Food Friday- Stay Home Vacay Eat-a-thon

So, today on Messy Counters I want to talk about food.

Problem is… I have barely cooked this week! Ugh, my first week here and I fail miserably. My parents visited and I was out with them all the last couple of days. And it wasn’t a planned visit! It went something like this…

Sunday night. My phone does the Law and Order DUN DUN that says I have a text message. I look at it, and see it’s my dad, who is new to smart phones and texting. It says, “We will be down tomorrow.”

I launch into panic mode. My parents are coming down TOMORROW!!! It’s good my house is already clean.  I am happy though because my moms birthday was just last week, so we can celebrate. I have to think of a way to make the few days special.

DUN DUN. It’s dad again, who says she wants to go to the beach. I can do that! And hubs reminds me Tuesday was National Lasagna Day.

NATIONAL LASAGNA DAY? That’s a thing?

Well, it was an excuse for us to go to Bravo! for Italian. So now I’ve got most of a plan.

So, Monday I make us pork chops with asparagus, since they arrived in the late afternoon and I hadn’t made better plans. It was a surprisingly good meal, which I took no pictures of. Much like I took no pictures of anything else I ate while they were here. Really need to reevaluate my lack of attention to my camera. Is there a way to fuse it to myself so I always have it?

I do, however, have a photo of the last time I made pork chops and asparagus, does that count? I did cook them the same way, so I’m hoping it passes.

Grilled Pork Chops and Asparagus

Grilled Pork Chops and Asparagus

Anyway, we went to the beach Tuesday and I got burned pretty bad. We went to a burger joint for lunch and dad had a half beef/ half bacon burger (they make those?), while I had a black and blue burger and mom had a salad. Had Italian for dinner like planned. Dad was the only one who got Lasagna. Mom had manicotti, I had fettuccine with bolognese, and the hubs had pasta fra diavolo(spicy tomato sauce) with shrimp.

Wednesday we went to the beach again. We had seafood for lunch, then went to T.G.I.Fridays with my best friend Brittany and shared Endless Apps. Mozzarella sticks, boneless chicken bites in various sauces, spinach dip, pot stickers, and potato skins. Lots of fried, lots of guilty pleasure.

Thursday saw my parents leaving and me adjusting back to regular schedule. It was sad to see them go. On the ups, I did have a picture of Thursdays dinner on the grill, barbeque chicken with garlic butter corn on the cob. So excite!

 

Grilling Barbeque Chicken and Corn

Grilling barbeque Chicken and Corn

Wasn’t that worth all my life story?

Anyway, thanks for stopping by. I’ll be back Monday for Novel Monday and next Friday will see better pictures(I hope, at least more pictures for sure).

Leave a Reply

