Novel Monday – O’Brien and Koontz

Hello Again!!

The novel of the week was Disturbed by Kevin O’Brien.

Disturbed- Kevin O'Brien

Disturbed by Kevin O’Brien

This was my first novel by O’Brien and I have to admit I’m not racing to buy all his other books. The book centers on a cul-de-sac where Molly, a new wife and step-mom is trying to fit in, both with her new children and the neighbors. And when a cul-de-sac killer starts striking in the area, paranoia sets in for her.

This book had a sizable cast of characters, and I really didn’t feel like most of them got anything but a passing characterization. The book opens well, and I was anticipating a fast paced thriller, but somehow, I ended up more with a medium paced soap opera with a killing subplot. I found myself unsurprised throughout the book. I knew who the killer was, I knew why those who were targeted were targeted, and I knew the twist at the end before it arrived. I normally don’t try to figure those things out so I can enjoy reading the book, but it seemed like the answers were glaring at me. There was one particularly ridiculous plot point I just couldn’t get behind. Spoiler Alert, if you want to know, I’m putting it just below. Highlight to read.

Spoiler.

The cul-de-sac killer is not the main villain in this novel, and is imitated at one point. He does not take well to this and hunts down the imposter, causing him and the main villain to converge on the main characters at the climax. That is just too convoluted for me.

Spoiler Over.

All in all, it was a decent book. I would give it a 3 out of 5. I would read one of his books again.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel will be…

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz!

I’m probably the last person to read this novel, but I do enjoy Dean Koontz, so I’m going to give it a go finally. Who doesn’t want a story about a guy who can see the dead?

That’s all for Novel Monday! See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

