Food Friday – Hit or Miss

Hello Again!

On Sunday, the hubs and I went to his mother’s house with pulled pork and mac and cheese. So of course we had leftovers that needed to be re-purposed.

On Monday, I re-purposed the pulled pork into this BBQ Baked Bean and Sausage recipe here. This recipe contains navy beans (or great northern beans. I used both.), sausage (which I subbed  in pulled pork), collard greens, and barbecue sauce.

BBQ Baked Bean with pulled pork

I have never had collard greens before this, and I did not like them. Perhaps I didn’t get them cooked right, but they were too tough for me. I just couldn’t get over the texture. Otherwise, this recipe was good. I think as long as you pick a barbecue sauce you know you like, you can’t go wrong! For me, this was a 2 out of 5, but only because I didn’t like the collard greens.

Tuesday we went on an ice cream date with my bestie Brittany, and completely ruined my appetite for dinner, so I didn’t bother to cook anything.

Wednesday, I made Asian Chicken Burgers and Broccoli with Asian Garlic Sauce. Burger recipe here, and broccoli recipe here.

The burgers have ground chicken(I used ground turkey because I had some in my freezer), grated carrots and red onion, hoisin, soy sauce, Asian chili sauce, and ginger. There’s a mushroom and onion topping that is mixed with sesame oil, lime juice, and soy sauce.

The sauce for the broccoli has garlic, sesame oil, soy sauce, chicken stock, and cornstarch.

Asian Chicken Burger with Broccoli asian garlic sauce

When I chose this recipe I thought the onion and mushroom topping was cooked, not quick pickled. I don’t eat mushrooms and do not have an affinity for raw onions, so I considered just leaving them off all together. In the end, I wanted to make the dish as close to recipe as possible, so I made the onions as directed, but didn’t include the mushrooms.

I’m glad I did. The burger was delicious. Gotta trust recipe creators, because the onions were so good on the burger. They added a bright note to the savory burger. It was so good, I’d give it a 5 out of 5.

The broccoli was okay. The sauce was delicious, and I know if you like broccoli you’d love the recipe. I’m just still not keen on broccoli. It’s something I’m working on. Because of this, I’d have to give the broccoli 3 out of 5.

Thursday, I satisfied a pasta craving with this Spaghetti alla Ceci, recipe here. The sauce for this has chickpeas, crushed tomatoes, garlic, chicken broth, crushed red pepper, and dried thyme.

Spaghetti alla Ceci

This is a meatless pasta dish, but the meat isn’t missed at all. The chickpeas make the sauce hearty and filling, but don’t over power the tomato flavor. I would definitely make this again. 4 out of 5.

That’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

