Novel Monday – Koontz and Zevin

Hello Again!

The novel of the week was Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz.

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

I am a Dean Koontz fan. I love his books, and his vocabulary is wonderful. However, since Odd Thomas is the beginning of a series, I have always held back from starting it.

I wish I hadn’t. I wish I’d read this years ago. Odd is such a wonderful character.

Odd Thomas is a 20 year old who can see dead people. They look and feel as real to him as the living, but they do not speak. Odd doesn’t know why. But they do try to communicate with him sometimes. He works as a short order cook in a small town, Pico Mundo, and is in love with Stormy Llewellyn, the most beautiful girl in the world(according to him).

I love Stormy and Odd. They are very entertaining. According to the novel, Stormy and Odd are destined to be together forever. They have matching birthmarks and a fortune telling machine card to prove it.

Anyway, main plot is a very strange man walks into the diner one morning followed by shade-like creatures. Odd is not sure why they are following the man, but knows it is a bad sign. He has to decipher the mystery to stop a disaster. His only viable clue is a calendar page with August 15 on it. It is August 14, so he only has 24 hours to figure out and stop what is happening.

The book is written from the point of view of Odd. He is an engaging narrator and just makes the story flow so much better than if it had been third person. I almost felt like I was reading a memoir versus a fiction novel. The book itself moves along at a quick pace. I finished it in two nights because I was so captivated with the characters and the story.

I would give this book a 4 1/2 out of 5.

Light Spoiler.

The end is just crushing. Be warned.

Spoiler over.

On to this week!

This weeks novel will be…

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikrey by Gabrielle Zevin

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikrey by Gabrielle Zevin

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.

I do not actually know anything about this book. I picked it up on a whim and have never read anything by Gabrielle Zevin. I did see from the summary it is about a widower bookseller.

That’s all for this Novel Monday! See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

