Food Friday – Quick and Easy

Hello again!

This week on Food Friday we have a salad with homemade dressing, one of my staple dishes, and some recipes with an Asian theme. All of them were quick and easy, most taking under 30 minutes to make(active time at least, since there is a slow cooker dish).

Quick change in my formatting. From now on, the recipe titles will be hyperlinked for the recipe origin, instead of me making a “recipe here” for each one. Since I am new at this, I am still trying to figure out what works best. This seems more streamlined.

Monday, we joined the Meatless Monday trend with a Vegetarian Taco Salad.

Vegetarian Taco Salad

Vegetarian Taco Salad

Seasoned black beans replace the meat in this dish, and I do not miss it. This salad was so good, I was still talking about it Thursday! I made a Buttermilk Ranch dressing to go with this. I love making my own dressings. I can control the calories better that way, and can customize the taste if I need or want to. (That probably just means I add extra garlic. I am a garlic addict.)
Tuesday, we had grilled pork chops and Steamfresh mixed vegetables. I used this marinade for the pork, and it is one of my favorite marinades. It really enhances the pork. I reduced the marinade a bit and used it as a sauce, which I enjoyed, but would recommend caution if you choose to do it. If you reduce it too much, it will be too salty. Just taste it while you reduce.

Marinated Pork Chop

Marinated Pork Chop

Wednesday, I made Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken, and served it with Asian Slaw with Sesame Soy Dressing, and brown rice.

Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken and Asian Slaw with Sesame Soy Dressing

Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken and Sesame Soy Slaw

 

This chicken is amazing! It is so tender and flavorful. Unfortunately, this Asian slaw was not for me. I am not a large fan if sesame oil, so I definitely think that was the problem. For me, the sesame oil overpowered everything else. Personal problem, I know. If you like sesame oil, I think you would love this slaw.
Thursday, I stayed on the Asian theme with Korean Beef and this Asian Slaw and leftover rice from Wednesday.

Korean "Beef" with Asian Slaw

Korean “Beef” with Asian Slaw

I was a bit apprehensive trying this Korean Beef recipe since it includes brown sugar, which makes the meat somewhat sweet. I am not a big fan of sweet in savory dishes, so I kept the sugar to the minimum recommended by the recipe. I did also use ground turkey, and I think it was a perfect swap. I do not think it took away from the dish at all.

These two together were delicious. The slaw has an acidic tang that counterbalances the sweetness of the meat perfectly. I don’t think I would make the Korean beef without the slaw as a side. It was very good on its own, but too sweet to eat a full serving of alone.

 

That’s all for this week’s Food Friday. See you Monday!

5 thoughts on “Food Friday – Quick and Easy

    • Hi Rachel!
      Thanks for the comment. The Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken was delicious. The sauce is wonderful, it doesn’t have an overbearing garlic flavor, and the honey adds just enough sweetness. (and I accidentally added the cornstarch to the sauce mixture at the beginning, and it came out of the slow cooker nicely thickened, so I got to skip a step.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

