Food Friday – Winner

Food Friday Collage
Hello again!!

This week has nothing but winners!

Sunday, I made this Creamy Crouton Chicken from Bombshell Bling. This is a very easy recipe, which only required chicken breasts, Swiss cheese, cream of chicken soup, croutons, and butter.

Creamy Crouton Chicken with Parmesan Potato Cauliflower Mash

Creamy Crouton Chicken with Parmesan Potato Cauliflower Mash

I omitted the butter when I made this recipe, and made Parmesan Potato and Cauliflower Mash from Strawberry Mint instead of rice to serve with the chicken. The cream of chicken soup turns into a nice gravy, and the chicken is tender and moist. I added a bit of salt and pepper to the chicken before I put it in the baking dish (this is something I do to any chicken I make), and also added a bit of seasoning (pepper, garlic powder, and a bit of Italian seasoning) to the soup mix because I find it is a bit bland out of the can. If you have well seasoned croutons, you can probably do without that extra seasoning.

I would make this recipe again. It was very tasty for so few ingredients, and largely hands off. Once you assemble the dish, it bakes in the oven for an hour.

The Parmesan Potato Cauliflower Mash was such a revelation. The roasted cauliflower mixed well with the potatoes and didn’t detract from the typical indulgence of mashed potatoes. It also reheats well, which is always a plus.

Monday, I made Steak Fingers with Gravy from Pioneer Woman, Caesar Green Beans from Little Miss Celebration, and leftover Parmesan Potato Cauliflower Mash.

Steak Fingers with Gravy. Caesar green beans. Parmesan Potato Cauliflower Mash

Steak Fingers with Gravy. Caesar green beans. Parmesan Potato Cauliflower Mash

The hubs loved the steak fingers and the gravy. He had been waiting two weeks for this recipe, and he said it was exactly what he had been waiting for. I was happy with the way the gravy came together, and I thought it was very tasty overall.
The Caesar Green Beans were so quick, and are guaranteed to be delicious. If you use a Caesar dressing you love, how can it not be perfect? When I made mine, I did roast the beans at 425 for about 15 minutes. Little Miss Celebration par-boils the beans and then finished them in a pan. I have never been able to eat green beans that have been boiled, there’s just something about the texture. Whichever way you like them cooked, the dressing is a wonderful addition. I used Ken’s Steakhouse Lite Caesar.

 

Tuesday, I needed to lighten dinner up a bit, so I made these Pot Sticker Burgers with Spicy Asian Slaw from Iowa Girl Eats. Ground turkey is mixed with chopped coleslaw mix and seasoned with ginger, garlic, and soy sauce to make burgers that are topped with a Spicy Asian Slaw made from premade coleslaw mix, soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame oil, crushed red pepper, and garlic and ginger powders. This is a quick, bun-less burger that mimics the flavors of pot stickers.

Potsticker Burger with Spicy Asian Slaw

Pot Sticker Burger with Spicy Asian Slaw

These burgers were just perfect. Quick, easy, flavorful, and for a low-calorie meal very filling. The slaw is tangy from the vinegar and cuts the meatiness of the burger.

 

Wednesday, we had Red Pepper & Goat Cheese Alfredo from The Cookie Rookie, and another batch of Caesar Green Beans. Roasted red peppers are combined with garlic, goat cheese, Parmesan cheese, and heavy cream to make the sauce for this pasta dish. You can add chicken to it or not. I chose to broil some chicken to go alongside it.

Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Alfredo

Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Alfredo

I loved this pasta. The sauce is very rich with a nice tang from the goat cheese. A little goes a long way because it is very filling. Next time I will serve it as a small side, and save the leftovers, which are just as delicious.

 

Thursday, I made these Baked Mini Spinach and Sausage Arancini from Skinnytaste, and Spaghetti Squash (mixed with a little regular spaghetti for my pasta cravings) from Eat Within Your Means.

Baked Spinach and Sausage Arancini

Baked Spinach and Sausage Arancini

The Baked Mini Spinach and Sausage Arancini are made with rice, Italian sausage, spinach, mozzarella, Pecorino Romano, marinara sauce, and an egg white. Mixed well, it is rolled into balls, breaded, and baked.

The hubs and I had some spectacular Arancini at Carrabba’s last weekend with some friends, and so when I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it. I’m glad I did. It’s a lightened version that doesn’t skimp on the flavor.
I found this method of cooking spaghetti squash to be very interesting. Normally, I cut mine lengthwise and bake. However, this recipe says cutting it in width-wise slices actually give longer, more spaghetti-like strands. And you know what? It totally does! I was so impressed, and they blended so much better with the spaghetti noodles.
I used Skinnytaste’s Quick Marinara Sauce recipe for this meal.

One thought on “Food Friday – Winner

Leave a Reply

