Novel Monday- Wells and Little

Hello Again!

Last weeks book was I Am Not A Serial Killer by Dan Wells.

I Am Not A Serial Killer by Dan Wells

I Am Not A Serial Killer by Dan Wells

This book was not what I was expecting.

At the beginning, I was bothered by the coincidences. The sociopath boy narrator thinks he is destined to be a serial killer, and sets all these rules to avoid becoming one. Then a serial killer comes to town. I just could not help going, oh of course one did! Then he decides he is going to find out who the killer is, and of course he manages to find him by the coincidence of the person he was following turns out to be the next victim.

That is where the big surprise twist comes in, and I found myself annoyed by it. I felt the book was going so well up until that point, and then it was as if someone punched me right in the stomach. My interest just could not recover. The twist seemed like a cop-out to me. A way to make the book easier to write.

The book has a number of facts about various serial killers, mostly well-known ones and common facts.

Overall, I am going to give this book a 2 ½ out of five. The writing was good and the novel was not a chore to get through, but I just felt let down. I felt like a bait and switch victim.

So, on to this week!

This week’s book will be…

The Return by Bentley Little

The Return by Bentley Little

The Return by Bentley Little.

That’s it for this week’s Novel Monday. See you Friday.

Leave a Reply

