Food Friday – 09/12/2014

Hello Again!

Food Friday 9-12

Monday, we had this Mediterranean Chicken Kebab Salad from Skinnytaste. A fresh salad of lettuce, cucumbers, tomatoes, bell pepper, red onion, and olives topped with juicy lemon and herb marinated chicken and feta cheese. This recipe has a built-in red wine vinaigrette.

Mediterranean Chicken Salad

Mediterranean Chicken Salad

I loved this salad. It is exactly what I like in a salad, and is so tasty it could be served in a restaurant. The vinaigrette ingredients quick pickled the red onion and bell pepper just enough to take the bite out, while still letting them be crunchy. I did also add a few croutons because I had them, I like them, and this salad is just too healthy without them!

Tuesday, I made a Loaded Cauliflower Soup from WannaBite.  It’s a veggie-loaded, healthified version of loaded potato soup. Cauliflower takes place of much of the potato, and it has corn, zucchini, diced cooked chicken, bacon (as a topping), and cheese.

Loaded Cauliflower Soup

Loaded Cauliflower Soup

I made two alterations to this recipe. I roasted the chicken breast in the oven and then chopped it up, and I roasted the cauliflower before putting it in the soup to simmer. I do not like the taste of boiled cauliflower, so I thought roasting it first would help with the flavor.

The soup was amazing. It tasted like loaded potato soup, but more complex. I had a big bowl for dinner, and reheated it for lunch the next day(to my delight it was just as good second day). The recipe recommends topping with a little hot sauce, and I totally agree. I use Chili Garlic Cholula, so good!

Wednesday, I made this Skinny Cheeseburger Casserole from Skinny Mom, and served it with Sriracha Broccoli from Food and Other Things. The casserole is made with elbow noodles, ground beef (turkey for me), diced tomatoes, onion, tomato paste, Dijon mustard, dill relish, and cheese. The Sriracha broccoli is broccoli, soy sauce, sesame oil, sriracha, minced garlic, peanuts, and black pepper.

Skinny Cheeseburger Casserole and Sriracha Broccoli

Skinny Cheeseburger Casserole and Sriracha Broccoli

The Skinny Cheeseburger Casserole was really wonderful. It does give the taste of a cheeseburger, and it quite filling. The flavors blend together without muddling, which is fun while eating. The hubs told me, “I can taste the mustard!”. It didn’t get lost in the casserole.

The Sriracha Broccoli was delicious. It was just coated enough to have good flavor without making the broccoli mushy, which I can’t stand, and it was spicy without being mindlessly hot. Am I the only one who hates spicy food that is nothing but heat, no flavor? I don’t mind a little burn, can even tolerate my eyes watering from spice, but it has to have flavor too.

Thursday, we went out to dinner with a friend, so I didn’t cook anything.

That’s it for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

