Food Friday – Special Breakfast Edition

Hello Again!

Breakfast

My parents are visiting for an early birthday celebration for me this week, so I decided to do a special edition of Food Friday to free my week up. So, for this first special edition of Food Friday, I’m doing Breakfast!

I try to make myself something for breakfast every day. Some days it ends up being more of a brunch because I can’t eat just after I wake up without feeling sick. I try to listen to my body’s hunger cues now, whether that is technically right or not. Anyway, since I do make myself breakfasts, I take pictures of it so I can feed them into my meal planner. (I use Plan To Eat, look for a special post about that in the next week).

First up, I’ve got Cottage Cheese Eggs. I don’t have a specific website to refer you to for this recipe. I have seen a number of pictures bouncing around on Pinterest and a number of varying ingredient proportions. The ingredients are what it sounds like: cottage cheese and eggs (plus seasoning of your choice).

Cottage Cheese Eggs

Cottage Cheese Eggs

All I did when making these was whisk two eggs together, season them (I used salt, pepper, and a tiny bit of garlic powder), pour them into a preheated pan, and added two spoonful’s of cottage cheese. Then you scramble them like regular scrambled eggs.

I really enjoyed these eggs. They’re soft, fluffy, and just a little creamy from the cottage cheese. They are really scrambled eggs enhanced.

Staying on the egg theme is this Cheesy Baked Egg Toast from Crazy Adventures in Parenting. This is another simple recipe involving eggs, bread, cheese, butter, and seasonings.

Cheesy Baked Egg Toast

Cheesy Baked Egg Toast

I realized when I went to make this that the recipe is vague on cooking time and temperature. It says to cook it in a toaster oven or in a skillet, monitoring for doneness. I do not have a toaster oven, so I chose to cook it in the oven. I set the oven to 400 degrees and it took about 15 minutes for me to feel it was cooked enough. The yolk was a bit cooked on the bottom by then, but still gooey on the top, so I was happy with that. The bread and cheese were crispy, and overall it was a satisfying breakfast. I used a bit of hot sauce when I ate it.

Now on to some sweet recipes.

This Apple Cinnamon Waffle Parfait from Mostly Homemade Mom just has yogurt, Eggo waffles, apples, brown sugar, and cinnamon.

Apple Cinnamon Waffle Parfait

Apple Cinnamon Waffle Parfait

I didn’t actually build a parfait for this one. I just made it in a bowl. It was still delicious. The apples soften just a little and all the flavors balance nicely. I did use plain Greek yogurt versus the vanilla suggested in the recipe, and I thought it was perfect.

Last up, is a Peanut Butter, Strawberry, and Banana Quesadilla from Tasty Kitchen. Peanut butter spread over two tortillas, with sliced bananas and strawberries sandwiched between and crisped in a skillet.

Peanut Butter, Banana, and Strawberry Quesadilla

Peanut Butter, Strawberry, and Banana Quesadilla

I really enjoyed this quesadilla. It wasn’t overpoweringly sweet and the tortilla had a nice crunch to compliment the soft filling.

That’s all for this special edition of Food Friday. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

