Novel Monday – McKinney and Bell

Hello Again!

Last weeks novel was Dead City by Joe McKinney.

Dead City by Joe McKinney

Dead City by Joe McKinney

I felt like there were too many easy answers/coincidences in this book. Just the point that we were following a cop from the word go annoyed me. A cop is going to have an edge to begin with. Why can’t we follow a regular person? Simple answer is, for the most part, the regular person would likely die too quickly. From there, I would be unable to say more without some level of spoilers. Speaking of which…

At the point where he miraculously meets up with his wife again, I just went, why couldn’t I have followed her through this story?!?

Moving on.

This is not to say the book wasn’t good. It was fine. It was a zombie book. But I think it also suffered from that. It seemed 90% flash and scare, danger and peril, and only 10% character and sense. I guess it just left me wishing for more from it.

It was quick to read and fast-paced. An enjoyable if predictable read.

For Dead City, I’m giving a 2.5 out of 5.

So, on to this weeks novel!

This weeks novel will be…

Cemetery Girl by David Bell

Cemetery Girl by David Bell

Cemetery Girl by David Bell!

So, to my understanding this novel is about a 12-year-old girl who disappears one day, and what happens when she is found four years later unnaturally calm and unwilling to speak of what happened.

Seems interesting.

That’s it for this Novel Monday. See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

