Food Friday – Hubs Home Alone Edition

Hello Again!

Food Friday 10-03

This week I am going to Florida with my parents to visit my grandparents. That means two things:

  1. I have to write this Food Friday up early.
  2. The hubs is completely ALONE for a whole week!

So, what can I do for Food Friday if I’m not around to cook?

What is the hubs going to eat all week? The only answer to both for me is freezer meals! I can make the dishes ahead, which gives me some things to write about, and the hubs won’t eat McDonald’s and pizza all week.

The first thing I made for him was Taco Lasagna from The Girl Who Ate Everything. With a simple ingredient list of lasagna noodles, ground beef(turkey for us), taco seasoning, an egg, ricotta, cheddar cheese, and salsa, you can’t go wrong. Here are photos of it during assembly. In the first, you can see the ingredients layered together except the cheddar because that would block everything else. The second is the completed lasagna before freezing, with cheddar cheese on top.

Taco Lasagna

Taco Lasagna

I sent him a picture of my duvet the night he ate this, ands he told me he was jealous. Then, he tasted his lasagna and said he wasn’t jealous anymore! Clearly this was a winner.

I also made him a Chicken Parmesan Casserole from Thriving Home, which I neglected to take a picture of. Sorry! But realistically, it looked similar to the lasagna picture since is has a layer of cheese on top. The casserole itself is just diced chicken, pasta sauce, mozzarella cheese, and a breadcrumb/herb/Parmesan topping. I left the breadcrumbs and the Parmesan and herbs in separate bags so the hubs could mix them himself and top the casserole before baking. He also had to make his own pasta, so he practically made this himself!
Here are two pictures he took himself when he cooked it. He had to take them with his phone since I stole our camera for the trip!

image

The Italian in him loved this, and frankly I was jealous! Nothing makes me happier than a huge bowl of pasta.

Another Thriving Home recipe, I made two Pizza Stromboli’s for him. I used a thin layer of pesto in mine, mozzarella and Italian mix cheeses, pepperoni, diced red pepper, spinach and spices(garlic powder and Italian seasoning). I left the pizza sauce out of the interior so he could use it as a dipping sauce. This is one of them before rolling, so you can see all the ingredients.

Pizza Stromboli

Pizza Stromboli

Another jealous me! I was so wanting to make this and eat it myself while I was constructing it. It just looked so delicious.

Lastly, I made this Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole from Money Saving Mom. Being that this recipe consists of diced cooked chicken, broccoli, cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soups, and cheddar cheese (which I use white) this casserole does not have much color variation, so the photo may be a bit boring. It did smell really good while I was mixing the hot rice and broccoli in with everything, though.

Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole

Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole

So that’s it for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

