Food Friday – 10/10/2014

Hello Again!!

Food Friday 10-10

So, having come back from Florida earlier this week, I was super lazy and didn’t want to cook anything. So, I have a few recipes for you guys that I’ve made recently but haven’t appeared on Food Friday yet.

First, I have these Sloppy Joes from Pioneer Woman which I made with these Spiced Sweet Potato Fries from Adventures In Cooking.

Sloppy Joes and Sweet Potato Fries

Sloppy Joes and Sweet Potato Fries

The Sloppy Joes were so amazing! Making them myself was so much better than buying the mixes. I can tweak the flavors a little if I want (though Pioneer Woman’s recipe is plenty flavorful). I chose not to use buns with my Sloppy Joes. The sweet potato fries were good. They didn’t crisp up for me as much as I’d have liked, but they were good, and I suspect me cutting them too thick was too blame for the softness.

Next, I have these Chicken Club Quesadillas from Six Sisters’ Stuff.

Chicken Club Quesadilla

Chicken Club Quesadilla

The hubs was very surprised by these. I handed him his plate, and I could almost hear him think, “What is this tiny thing on my plate? This is not food.” But these are so full of flavor. The bacon gave it a little crunch and a nice smokey saltiness, while the tomato kept it fresh and moist.

This Creamy Tomato Basil and Italian Sausage Soup from Picky Palette was quick and simple. I used my own marinara sauce as a base.

Creamy Tomato Soup with Italian Sausage

Creamy Tomato Soup with Italian Sausage

I always have the problem of needing to add flavor to my tomato soup. Confession: this is because I eat Campbell’s condensed Tomato soup, which is one of my favorite childhood comfort foods. This recipe calls for spaghetti sauce and cream as a base, and I didn’t need to add much beyond the recipe. I did add a bit of cayenne for heat, but that’s personal preference. I used chopped Chicken Italian Sausage in mine, and thought it was delicious.

Lastly, I made these Southern Apple Dumplings from Southern Blondie. Crescent dough makes these so easy and fast!

Southern Apple Dumplings

Southern Apple Dumplings

I made these for the hubs before I left, and for my parents and grandparents while I was in Florida. Everyone gave these rave reviews! I also made them once with the skin still on the apples and it softened up wonderfully, so I can take a step off if I am feeling lazy! This recipe is certainly a keeper. A small scoop of vanilla ice cream with these while warm would be an amazing accompaniment.

That’s it for this Food Friday! See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

