Novel Monday – Huntley and VanderMeer

Hello again!

The Everafter by Amy Huntley

The Everafter by Amy Huntley

Last weeks novel was The Everafter by Amy Huntley.

Halfway through this book, I didn’t have much to say about it. I actually asked my husband if it would be cheating to say It’s a YA novel. Enough said.

It had an interesting premise. Girl finds herself dead in a void-like place she dubs IS, filled with objects lost during her life. These objects take her back into her life, revisiting the events and even changing them. But what does it mean? What’s the point and how did she die?

The story overall felt very repetitive. Just a series of life events visited. I understand each event was chosen for some specific relevance, but I found myself getting tired of them anyway.

The characters were fairly realistic. Very teenager, if you know what I mean. I did feel for them now and again, but didn’t feel connected to any.

The ending was… closure. It didn’t make me happy or angry, it just ended the story. I put this novel down feeling it was complete, but not altogether satisfying.

2.5 out of 5. Something was just missing for me.

So, on to this weeks novel!

This weeks novel will be…

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer!

A Sci-fi novel about an expedition team, a mysterious cut-off area and what strange things await.

That’s it for this Novel Monday. See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

