Food Friday – 10/17/2014

Hello Again!!

Food Friday 10-17

So, I’ve got some interesting recipes for you this week, but I want to take a minute to talk about APPLES. Since it’s still the season and all.

My grocery store had two new types of apples this week, Jonagold and SweeTango.

Jonagold and SweeTango

Jonagold and SweeTango

The Jonagold was not for me. It was quite sweet and mealy to me. It had a bit of a crunch, but it wasn’t enough to get me past the mealy texture.

I loved the SweeTango, though! It was so crunchy and light, and just the right kind of sweet. I enjoyed just biting into it with that satisfying crunch and crisp texture, but it is also a wonderfully juicy apple. It isn’t mealy at all. The hubs said it was “like eating apple juice”.

So! On to our regularly scheduled programming.

Monday, I made this Doritos Taco Salad from Emily Bites. Simple dinner using Doritos, lettuce, tomato, taco-seasoned ground beef, cheese, and French or Catalina dressing.

Doritos Taco Salad

Doritos Taco Salad

I loved this salad. I get tired of salads very easily, but I think I could eat this one frequently and love it every time. The Doritos were a really tasty and fun change, and it was a filling dinner.

I guess I should take a moment to discuss the changes I made though. Full disclosure and all.

I tried to stay as close to the recipe as possible, but I do not like French or Catalina dressing, so I subbed Pace Picante sauce for that. I also used ground turkey, as I always do instead of the ground beef. I don’t feel these changes significantly changed the flavor profile though.

Last thing I’d like to note about this recipe: we tried this salad with the Nacho Cheese and the Spicy Nacho Doritos and both were delicious.

Tuesday, I made went meatless(sort of) with this Creamy Garlic Pasta from Num’s The Word. I feel like this was a mostly pantry dish. It’s spaghetti, garlic, olive oil and butter, Chicken Stock, Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper, heavy cream, and parsley(which is optional). All I needed from the store for this was the heavy cream and parsley. I served this with a salad for a complete meal.

Creamy Garlic Pasta

Creamy Garlic Pasta

I know the Chicken Stock kind of ruined the true meatless aspect of this, but I honestly did not think of it at the time.

Now, I always feel when talking about meatless dinners, the hubs opinion is the best indicator of success, since he loves meat, and thinks it’s essential to a meal. So his verdict on this pasta?

He loved it! He was so surprised by how delicious, flavorful, and creamy the pasta came out. It has a nice mellow garlic flavor, and ours had a nice subtle chicken flavor from the stock.

Wednesday, I made Gorgonzola Herb Baked Chicken from Taylor Made. Another simple ingredient list: chicken, Greek yogurt, mayonnaise, Gorgonzola cheese, parsley, salt and pepper, Parmesan cheese(I actually forgot to add this), and garlic powder. I served this with Balsamic Dijon broccoli.

Gorgonzola Herb Chicken

Gorgonzola Herb Chicken

This is another dish I feel the hubs opinion is more telling than my own. I love Gorgonzola cheese. Love it! So, of course I thought this dish was perfect. Bursting with flavor and so juicy. Thankfully for me, the hubs, not a Gorgonzola lover, loved this too! He took the first bite and said it was amazing! The Gorgonzola is mellowed during cooking, so even if you don’t like it, I would give this a try. It might change your mind.

Thursday, I was not feeling like cooking. I wanted to go to dinner with my bestie. But we can’t (and shouldn’t) go out to eat all the time, and the hubs was feeling under the weather. So I had to do something.

I decided a spicy pasta dish would make both of us happy, and maybe clear his stuffiness for a bit, so I made this catch-all “goulash”.

American Goulash catch-all.

American Goulash catch-all.

This was super easy to make, and fast at just under 25 minutes. Mine has ground turkey, onion, frozen peas and carrots(had half a bag left in my freezer), most of a jar of pizza sauce(found in my fridge), chicken broth, a can of diced tomatoes, a good amount of crushed red pepper, elbow pasta, and shredded Parmesan to top.

It had good spice and was really tasty for something I made with no recipe. I also made it a one-pot dish, cooking the pasta with everything else.

How does this dish look to you? Should I post a recipe for it?

Well, that’s it for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

