Food Friday – 10/24/2014

Hello again!!

Food Friday 10-24

Do you guys watch any cooking shows? How about cooking talk shows? My best friend watches The Chew all the time, but that show got old for me after a couple of months. I like to watch The Kitchen on the Food Network. Might be mostly because I love Geoffrey Zakarian. He’s one of my favorite judges on Chopped, another cooking show I’m addicted to!

But anyway! This week is, if you couldn’t guess, The Kitchen themed!

Monday’s recipe comes from Jeff Mauro, the Sandwich King . I chose his Texas Rising Chili because it has chunks of chuck roast, which I knew the hubs would love, and he made his own chili powder for it, which I had not done before.

Texas Rising Chili and Cornbread

Texas Rising Chili and Cornbread

The hubs said this was a delicious stew. He just couldn’t think of it as chili. It is unlike any chili we have ever had. It doesn’t have a ton of onion, peppers, tomatoes, and beans like ours do. Personally, this was not for me. I liked the homemade chili powder, but the chuck roast made it a bit fatty even though I had trimmed it really well, and I just didn’t enjoy the texture of the meat. It was very tender, but I’m just not a roast kind of girl.

Tuesday, I went with Sunny Anderson’s Apple Butter Braised Pork Chops. I served these with Parmesan Potato & Cauliflower Mash. These chops have onions, green peppers, and cherry tomatoes braised with them in the Apple Butter Sauce.

Apple Butter Braised Pork Chops with Parmesan Potato and Cauliflower Mash

Apple Butter Braised Pork Chops with Parmesan Potato and Cauliflower Mash

I liked these when I was getting a bite of EVERYTHING together, including the mash I made. The apple butter sauce is really sweet, and I couldn’t eat it by itself with the pork. If you like sweet and savory, this recipe will hit the spot. I don’t even put my bacon or sausage on the same plate as my pancakes and syrup at breakfast, so I probably should have known better. But the hubs loves sweet and savory, and he thought the sauce was a bit tooth-aching too.

Wednesday brought Geoffrey Zakarian’s Chicken Ramen Noodle Pot Pies. Diced chicken, peas, carrots, and leeks in a smooth, creamy sauce and a butter pastry top.

Chicken Ramen Noodle Pot Pies

Chicken Ramen Noodle Pot Pies

I loved this dish. It was exactly what I want from a pot pie, and the individual servings are fun. I did use 10 oz ramekins instead of 8 oz, and the filling fit perfectly.

Thursday, I was supposed to make Katie Lee’s Pork, Sweet Potato, and Shiitake Mushroom Ramen. But it turned out I forgot to buy Shiitake mushrooms. I decided to continue the recipe without them since I do not like mushrooms very much as it is.

Pork and Sweet Potato Ramen

Pork and Sweet Potato Ramen

This was a nice dish. I had a few grievances, but most could be fixed on a second make. I didn’t feel there was enough broth, the sweet potatoes got really mushy, and it had a sweet flavor overall. I honestly don’t know if the mushrooms would have solved any of these problems on their own.

And on an exciting note, I made poached eggs for the first time for this dish! I feel really silly for not having made poached eggs before, they were so delicious, and not nearly as hard as I thought.

That’s it for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

One thought on “Food Friday – 10/24/2014

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – 11/21/2014 | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

