Food Friday – Happy Halloween

Hey guys!

FoodFriday10-31

Happy Halloween! As you may have seen on my first Craft Wednesday, I love Halloween, so I’m so excited it’s on a Friday this year! The hubs and I will be giving some candy out, and then going to a haunted event. Chills and thrills, and cool autumn weather for the perfect atmosphere.

But my ramblings about Halloween are not why you are here. You’re here for my ramblings about food, yes? So, let’s get going with that so you can get back to Halloween  festivities.

First up, Crockpot Beer Braised Chicken and 5 Ingredient Beer Bread from Half Baked Harvest. Simple, homey recipe where you cook chicken with beer, onion, red peppers, tomatoes, spices, and andouille sausage.

Crockpot Beer Braised Chicken

Crockpot Beer Braised Chicken

I served this last weekend when we had a pumpkin carving/ horror movie party with my bestie and her husband. Everyone really liked it. It is a spicy dish, and my bread came out very hard and dry on the edges, but the inside was soft and dense(but in a nice way). A pumpkin beer is recommended for both dishes(since it is the season).

The bread does have a beer flavor, so be warned if you don’t like beer. The braised chicken doesn’t taste strongly of beer, so it is safe for all.

Lastly, a quick note on cooking this in the crockpot. My crockpot, even on high, never gets hot enough to thicken this sauce once the cornstarch goes in. I had to thickened it in a pot on the stove. Just in case you have the same problem, it can be fixed pretty easily.

Next, I made Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup from Cooking Classy. Chicken, black and pinto beans, onion, jalepeno, tomatoes and green chilies, and corn in a creamy spicy broth, and topped with cheese and sour cream.

Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup

Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup

I loved this soup! It’s just spicy enough, super quick to make, and so filling without being heavy. Mine did come out pretty thick, almost stewlike, so I might add a bit more broth if I want it thinner next time. It is also delicious next day for lunch.

Tuna Melts from Pioneer Woman came next, served with basic tomato soup.

Tuna Melts

Tuna Melts

Now, I don’t know about you, but I’ve always made my tuna melts simple: tuna, mayo, relish, salt and pepper, mixed and spread on a piece of toast and topped with provolone and broiled until melty.

Pioneer woman’s tuna mix is quite different. She uses tuna, hard boiled eggs, a jalepeno, red onion, red bell pepper, sweet gherkins, mayo, Dijon, and salt and pepper.

This caused a split in my opinion. I really loved the flavor of these tuna melts, and even the slight crunch of the vegetables. But there was a part of me that just thought, where is my comfort food tuna melt? This is not what I know!

These tuna melts are delicious and unique, and I would certainly make them again.

Lastly, Pan Seared Sriracha Lemon Pork Chops from Maebells. Pork chops are marinated in lemon juice, chili garlic sauce, Sriracha, sesame oil, and soy sauce. I served these over vegetable fried rice.

Pan Seared Sriracha Lemon Pork Chops

Pan Seared Sriracha Lemon Pork Chops

These pork chops were tasty. Mine did not have as much flavor as I expected. I had some heat, and a slight hint of acid from the lemon, but mostly just tasted the pork.

That’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

