Novel Monday – Palahniuk and Benjamin

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk.

Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk

Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk

Tender Branson,  who is the last member of the Creedish Death Cult, is dictating his life story into the flight recorder of an airplane about to crash. He is the only one on the airplane.

I chose to “read” this as an audiobook because my week was full of chores, and wouldn’t leave much time for relaxing and reading, but I could listen to a book instead of the music that normally fills my chore time.

And here lies the problem. I am not sure how much of my review is influenced by the fact that I listened to this book versus reading it like normal.

I enjoyed the deliberate delivery of this story, the count down through his life to the point of impact (so to speak). The man they chose to read the audiobook was perfect. I felt he really set the tone and I understood from go what type of character I was getting.

I felt the main character had some similarities of attitude to what I got when I watched Fight Club (forgive me I haven’t read that one yet). They both seem asocial and disconnected. As do most of the secondary characters. They all act slightly out of what you would expect from normal people. It is entertaining though.

I really enjoyed this novel, and would absolutely recommend listening to this as an audiobook. The first person narrative plays well.

4 out of 5, and I’ll be picking up Fight Club soon so I can compare it to the movie.

So, on to this week!

This week’s novel will be…

Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin

Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin

Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin.

A historical fiction novel about the girl who inspired Alice In Wonderland, and the woman she became.

That’s all for this weeks Novel Monday! See you Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

