Food Friday – 11/14/2014

Hello again!

FoodFriday11-14

This week I made wonton cups every night. I wanted something easy to make that could be fun too.

Our first recipe this week is Skinny Hawaiian BBQ Chicken Cups from Skinny Mom. Shredded chicken, spicy BBQ sauce, pineapple chunks,  shredded cheese, and green onions are all that go into these wonton cups.

Sweet Hawaiian BBQ Chicken Cups

Sweet Hawaiian BBQ Chicken Cups

I used Famous Dave’s Devil’s Spit BBQ sauce with these, and I wished I had used my normal BBQ sauce (Famous Dave’s Sweet and Zesty). The BBQ sauce overpowered the sweetness of the pineapple. The cups were still delicious, but I wish I’d had a bit more of that sweet with my savory.

Next up, these Chicken Pesto Wonton “Cupcakes” from Emily Bites. I’ll admit, I skipped a bit on these. The recipe calls for making your own pesto (recipe included), but I just used my favorite store pesto. Anyway, you make (or buy) the pesto and mix it with shredded chicken, and chopped grape tomatoes

Chicken Pesto Wonton "Cupcakes"

Chicken Pesto Wonton “Cupcakes”

Mine came out (probably from my store-bought pesto), a little greasy. I fixed that easily by letting them sit on paper towels for a couple of minutes. The cups were very flavorful, and I loved the bright pop of juicy sweetness the grape tomatoes provided.

Then I went for one of my favorite flavor combinations, buffalo and blue cheese with these Buffalo Chicken Cups from Damn Delicious. I didn’t follow the technical aspects of this recipe that closely. I wanted them to be about the same size and style as the other cups I was making this week(the recipe has them at more of an appetizer size), so I just made them like I had the others, layering two wonton wrappers in each muffin cup.

Buffalo Chicken Cups

Buffalo Chicken Cups

I skipped another step with these (don’t I sound lazy?). I made all of the chicken for these at the same time, so obviously I didn’t cook the chicken with the spices as she recommends. I did, however, mix them into the mix for the cups, so that balances a bit, right? The chicken is mixed with buffalo sauce, a bit of butter, and spices (smoked paprika, chili powder, and the usual salt and pepper). Once in the cups, the cups are topped with blue cheese, and, after baking, green onion (which I forgot to put on before I photographed them).

These were really good, even with my changes (which were mostly cosmetic. I think the flavor profile was the same). The buffalo sauce has good flavor as well as nice heat. My chicken was a bit dry, but I think that was because I had pre-shredded it and had it in the fridge for a couple of days before making these.

Lastly, I made Shepherd’s Pie Wonton Cups, which I made myself without a recipe. As a child, I always loved when my dad made shepherd’s pie. I did later found out it was not traditional shepherd’s pie. Some call it American Shepherd’s Pie. Mine has a meat base with ground turkey, tomato soup, corn, thyme, salt and pepper, and Worcestershire sauce. I also made a batch of mashed potatoes, which normally covers the meat mixture in a casserole dish.

Shepherd's Pie Wonton Cups

Shepherd’s Pie Wonton Cups

To adapt it for wonton cups, I put one wonton wrapper into each muffin cup, topped it with some of the meat mixture, pressed a second wonton wrapper on top, another layer of the meat mixture, some shredded cheese, and a scoop of mashed potatoes on top.

These were probably my favorite of the week, but that might have been partially because of nostalgia. The potatoes stay creamy through the baking and the meat mixture is very rich and full of flavor.

That’s it for this Food Friday! Have a great weekend everyone! See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

