Novel Monday – Benjamin and Higley

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin.

Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin

Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin

A historical novel about the girl who inspired Alice in Wonderland, and the woman she became.

Can you love and hate something at the same time? That’s how I’m feeling about Alice I Have Been.

The writing is spectacular. The story is told in an engaging and engrossing way. I love the way fact is woven with fiction/speculation/inference so it becomes a complete story. It almost reads like a sensational autobiography.

On the other hand, I fear this book has changed how I look at the Alice in Wonderland stories. And how could it not? There is, as in all good stories, enough truth to make it believable, enough truth to change things. How do I view the Alice In Wonderland books with the same joy and wonder I once did, knowing what I now know? It isn’t possible. I feel tainted.

4.5 out of 5, but don’t read this if you can’t have your love of Alice In Wonderland changed forever.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel will be…

Palace of Darkness by Tracy L. Higley

Palace of Darkness by Tracy L. Higley

Palace of Darkness by Tracy L. Higley.

Another historical fiction novel, this one takes place during the spreading Roman Empire. It focuses on a widow seeking refuge for her and her son with her late husband’s family, but a secret he had kept from her threatens everything she holds dear.

That’s it for this Novel Monday! See you Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

