Craft Wednesday – Alcohol Ink Coasters (with a video!)

Hello again!

DSC01238

This week I made alcohol ink coasters, which are great for Christmas gifts, and so quick to make!

Here are all the alcohol inks I purchased. They came in these packs of three, and I believe I paid about $9 a pack, and the alcohol blending solution was around $6. You can see all of their kits and individual bottles at the Adirondack website.

Adirondack Alcohol Inks. Clockwise from top left: Alcohol Blending Solution, Farmers Market Kit, Dockside Picnic Kit, Nature Walk Kit, Summit View Kit

Adirondack Alcohol Inks. Clockwise from top left: Alcohol Blending Solution, Farmers Market Kit, Dockside Picnic Kit, Nature Walk Kit, Summit View Kit

The process to make these is pretty quick, and I made a video for you guys of me making the coasters!

Once you lay the colors down, you let them dry for a bit, I think mine were dry within the hour. Then you carefully run some black acrylic paint along the sides of the tiles.

DSC01240

This makes them look more finished and helps the colors stand out. Once that’s dry, it’s time to seal the tiles! These are the products I used this time around:

Mod Podge Spray Sealer and Rust-Oleum Matte Finish

Mod Podge Spray Sealer and Rust-Oleum Matte Finish Spray

You have to spray very light coats of each of these, or it will soak the inks and make them blend again. I did three coats of the Mod Podge, and two of the Rust-oleum. This part did take longer. I spent an afternoon doing the sealing.

A friend did let me know that this is not a perfect seal. Over time my coasters still faded, and the ink disappeared. I am trying to figure out a better way to seal these, but I am at a loss thus far other than epoxy, which I’m honestly scared of trying, and am afraid will wet the inks to the point of ruining them.

I’ll update this post if I find a better way. The last thing I did was glue a square of foam to the back of the tiles so they wouldn’t damage any surfaces you place them on. You could also use cork for this.

The finished coasters are quite pretty, and might last longer if you used double-walled cups on them.

DSC01239

That’s it for this Craft Wednesday. Tune in next week for homemade soap in minutes! See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

