Food Friday – 11/21/2014

Hello again!

Food Friday 11-21

This week has flown by in a haze of sickness and writing fever! Monday the temperature went up into the 70’s from the 50’s of Sunday, and then plummeted into the 40’s Tuesday. Raging migraine, let me tell you! I cannot handle temperature changes like that. Thankfully, I had delicious food (and the ability to sleep as late as I needed) to help me get better.

This Thanksgiving Tonight Spaghetti and Meatball dinner from Rachael Ray was so interesting. Turkey and stuffing meatballs with poultry seasoning, apple, and celery are tossed with spaghetti noodles and a mushroom gravy.

"Thanksgiving Tonight" Spaghetti and Meatballs

“Thanksgiving Tonight” Spaghetti and Meatballs

This really did taste just like Thanksgiving. The gravy was so delicious. The only thing I didn’t love about this was the amount of poultry seasoning in the meatballs. I really felt it overpowered the meatballs, and I actually only ate about half of my portion of them. It’s almost scary how it tastes just like Thanksgiving dinner. I should have served it with cranberry sauce!

This Spicy Whole Wheat Linguine with Sausage and Roasted Peppers from Skinnytaste was perfect for my sick day! It whips together so quickly, and is bursting with flavor. It has a pretty easy ingredient list: spaghetti noodles, roasted red peppers, hot Italian sausage, crushed tomatoes, garlic, onion, chicken broth, and Pecorino Romano.

Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Linguini

Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Linguine

I had this cooked and busily disappearing in just 30 minutes! The roasted red peppers have such a great flavor and pair with the sausage perfectly. I desperately wanted to finish the pan by myself.

Cold calls for soup to me, always, so this Slow Cooker BBQ Loaded Baked Potato Soup from Bakeaholic Mama really caught my eye. It is quick to prepare, and has a relatively short ingredient list: potatoes, onion, chicken broth, BBQ seasoning, BBQ sauce, heavy cream, and cheddar cheese for the base, and sour cream, crumbled bacon, and sliced green onion for topping.

Slow Cooker BBQ Loaded Baked Potato Soup

Slow Cooker BBQ Loaded Baked Potato Soup

I was wary that the BBQ flavor would overpower the soup when I began cooking it, but I wanted a bit more when I tasted it before serving. I added a bit more BBQ seasoning(about a teaspoon), and salt and pepper to my soup, and drizzled a little BBQ sauce over the top as additional topping. My soup came out a bit thin, so I pureed about half of the potatoes into the soup to thicken it. The flavors were amazing.

Lastly, I made these Pork Chops with Apple Gravy from The Weary Chef. For these, you season pork chops with salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning and cook them in a bit of butter. Then you make the gravy with apple juice, a bit of white wine or white balsamic vinegar, cream, and cornstarch. Simple, and less than 20 minutes start to finish.

Pork Chops with Apple Gravy

Pork Chops with Apple Gravy

Here’s another fear of mine: sweet with savory, and especially after the Apple Butter Braised Pork Chop incident I was so wary this would be too sweet. It wasn’t. The gravy by itself tastes like it would be too sweet, but once paired with the pork… heaven! The chops are juicy and tender, and the gravy is so smooth and a perfect complement.

So, that’s it for this Food Friday. Next Friday, I’ll be showing you guys my contributions to Thanksgiving. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

