Novel Monday – Palace of Darkness by Tracy L. Higley

Hello again!

Last week’s novel was Palace of Darkness by Tracy L. Higley.

Palace of Darkness by Tracy L. Higley
Palace of Darkness by Tracy L. Higley
 
I received a copy of this book from BookLook in exchange for my honest, unbiased review.

Palace of Darkness takes place in 106 A. D. and follows Cassia, a mother destitute after the death of her husband. In search of refuge, she takes her son to Petra, the City of Stone, in search of his father’s family. Once in Petra, however, Cassia discovers the family she hoped to connect with is not what she had hoped, and she and her son are caught in the middle of a struggle for the city between the royal powers and a subversive sect.

Palace of Darkness is a historical fiction novel with a biblical theme. I was honestly not aware of the biblical theme until about a ¼ of the way through the book, and from then to the end I felt it was very heavy-handed.

The characters were interesting and flawed, which lent realism to the story. The dialogue was engaging and always moved the story forward.

The main plot moved quickly and kept my interest. I finished this novel in less than four hours, and felt satisfied with its end. There was plenty of intrigue and suspense, and the story felt authentic.

The Christian messages became more and more prevalent as the story rolled on, and I began to feel as if I was being beaten with it. They began to feel repetitive and I was tempted to skip over those passages.

Overall, this was an entertaining book and I would recommend it, especially to anyone who enjoys books with a Christian theme.

3 out of 5.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

An Abundance of Katherines

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green.

I’ve already read The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, so I figured it was time to give one of his other books a try. This one is about a washed-up child prodigy with an obsession with dating girls named Katherine who goes on a reinvention road trip with his best friend.

See you next week for that!

That’s it for this Novel Monday. See you Wednesday!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book, Palace of Darkness by Tracy L. Higley,  free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Leave a Reply

