Novel Monday – The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E Pearson.

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

Jenna Fox wakes up to a life she doesn’t understand. Over a year after an accident put her in a coma, she wakes up in a new isolated house with no memories. Her parents tell her everything is fine, her life will come back, but Jenna knows something is wrong. She doesn’t feel right, and as her memories start to return, they only raise more questions. What is the truth?

I’m just going to mention I seem to have trouble reviewing YA novels. I find it easiest to say it was a good YA novel or it wasn’t, but beyond that I can’t seem to elucidate. I find most of them predictable, and this was only a slight exception. By the time the big twist happened, I knew what it would be, though I was a bit wrong at the start.

The characters are interesting. I enjoyed the development of Jenna, and her relations with her parents and grandmother as she came into herself. The dialogue is believable, and moves the story along well.

The plot was wonderful, imaginative and thought-provoking, which I love in a YA novel. I also loved that the novel wrapped up at the end. So many YA novels that I read end in a murky way so a sequel can be forced. I did find out this novel has a sequel, which I picked up at the library yesterday, so maybe more on that later.

4 out of 5. This is a good book for anyone, and a quick read.

So, on to this week! This weeks novel will be…

The Bracelet by Dorothy Love

The Bracelet by Dorothy Love

The Bracelet by Dorothy Love.

Back on historical fiction, this one takes place in 1850’s Savannah. Celia is hoping to get engaged and start her life as a married woman, but a reporter turns up in town intent on uncovering dark secrets about her family. Sinister notes and gifts begin arriving and Celia sets out to understand what happened years ago.

That’s it for this Novel Monday.  See you Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

