Food Friday – 12/12/2014

Hello Again!

FoodFriday12-12

Back on schedule, here’s this week’s food roundup!

Turkey Meatloaves with Braised Cabbage from Food Network were a surprising hit for the hubs and me.

Turkey Meatloaves with Braised Cabbage

Turkey Meatloaves with Braised Cabbage

I don’t recall ever eating cooked cabbage like this. I’ve always been wary of it, hearing that it smells awful and tastes just as bad, but this cabbage was so tasty! The turkey meatloaves were good, but I really think the cabbage was the star. The braising liquid reduces nicely, becoming very flavorful, and a great sauce for the meatloaves.

We had friends over for these Teriyaki Meatball Bowls from Budget Bytes, and everyone loved them.

Teriyaki Meatball Bowls

Teriyaki Meatball Bowls

One of my favorite things about this recipe is that you make the teriyaki sauce yourself, which is quick, easy, and made from simple, common ingredients. It has a great teriyaki flavor without being too sweet or salty, like most pre-made versions. The meatballs were tender and flavorful on their own, so they weren’t wholly dependent on the sauce.

Now, before I get to the next recipe, do you have a Carrabba’s near you? I have a few, and they are one of my favorite places for Italian food. They don’t over cook the pasta, and all of their food tastes fresh.

Well, one of my favorite things they have is Chicken Bryan, a juicy chicken breast topped with goat cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, basil and a lemon butter sauce. I almost always get this when we go.

Well, this Chicken Bryan Copycat from Tide & Thyme is just as wonderful, if not more so! I served it with Creamy Roasted Red Pepper and Cauliflower Soup with Goat Cheese from Closet Cooking.

Chicken Bryan Copycat and Creamy Roasted Red Pepper and Cauliflower Soup with Goat Cheese

Chicken Bryan Copycat and Creamy Roasted Red Pepper and Cauliflower Soup with Goat Cheese

The chicken is juicy, and I love the creaminess of the goat cheese against the tang of the lemon butter sauce. The soup was good. I love the flavor of roasted red peppers, but I couldn’t quite get the texture I wanted from my immersion blender. I think next time I’ll throw it in my Blendtec to smooth it out.

Last up this week Italian Chicken Bake from The Pinning Mama.

Italian Chicken Bake

Italian Chicken Bake

This was so good considering how easy it was. You season chicken (I  just used salt and pepper), spoon pesto on top, then lay sliced roma tomatoes over that, and finally mozzarella to seal it all in. Bake and marvel at the deliciousness. The pesto helped keep the chicken juicy, and the tomatoes broke down and become reminiscent of a fresh tomato sauce.

That’s all for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

One thought on “Food Friday – 12/12/2014

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – 12/26/2014 | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

