Food Friday – Desserts

Hello Again!

Food Friday 12-3

NOTE: Apparently this post got deleted from my blog somehow, so here it is again. 🙂

Normally I run down all the dinners I make in a week, but this week I want to try something a bit different. I try to make one dessert a week, so why not do a dessert post every month? Seems smart.

First up, this Glazed Apple Crumb Cake from Layers of Happiness. This is definitely a case of read the recipe.

Glazed Apple Crumb Cake

Glazed Apple Crumb Cake

The recipe calls for making this in a 9×9 pan and I made it in a loaf pan for some reason. It still came out okay,  but the cook time was wonky.

I served mine with caramel ice cream and homemade apple sauce. It was a very sweet, but very delicious dessert.

Next up, these Apple Cider Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream from Something Swanky.

Apple Cider Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream

Apple Cider Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream

This is a fairly quick recipe, and I have a shortcut to make it even faster. These call for melting Kraft caramels and a bit of water to incorporate into the frosting. It is much easier just to use caramel sauce. That’s what I did and it came out perfect. The cupcakes came out more like muffins, but that’s just an excuse to eat these for breakfast!

Gooey  Ritz Peanut Butter Cup S’mores Bars from Kevin and Amanda.

Gooey Ritz Peanut Butter Cup S'mores Bars

Gooey Ritz Peanut Butter Cup S’mores Bars

These are AMAZING! They may look a mess in the picture, but that’s because I didn’t wait until they were cool to cut into them. These are so decadent and sweet. I love them partly because they are so indulgent that a little goes a long way. I gave about half the pan to friends and family, and the rest kept the hubs and me for the whole week!

Last, but not least, I made this Eggnog Cream Pudding.

Eggnog Cream

Inspired by an Eggnog Cream Pie my best friend made, it is so easy and delicious. A 3.4 ounce vanilla instant pudding mix, 2 cups of eggnog, and 1 cup of Cool Whip, and you have cool, creamy eggnog delight.

I really feel like this is the perfect way for me to enjoy eggnog. The eggnog flavor completely takes over, so don’t worry about diluting the wonder that is eggnog. I had some graham cracker bunnies with mine for texture.

So that’s all for this Food Friday. Thanks for stopping by again!

Leave a Reply

