Food Friday – 12/19/2014

Hello again!

Food Friday 12-19

This week I’ve got a bit of a hodge-podge of recipes and what are technically non-recipes. Let’s start with the non-recipes.

First up, I crave buffalo chicken wraps ALL THE TIME. I have no idea why, but it is one of my most frequent cravings, second only to Mexican food. And Buffalo Wild Wings, uh! Do you have one near you? So evil! Their wraps are so delicious, but really high in calories. On the up side, they sell their sauces, so I had a bottle of their Spicy Garlic buffalo sauce in my fridge for this.

Buffalo Chicken Wrap

Buffalo Chicken Wrap and Tater Tots

I wanted crispy chicken, and didn’t want to make it, so I heated up a few frozen crispy strips from Tyson, along with some tater tots I had on hand for a side. Then it was just a matter of laying lettuce, cheese, chopped tomato, and the chicken strips (sliced) in a spinach wrap and topping it with my Spicy Garlic sauce and homemade Blue Cheese dressing (recipe from Skinnytaste). It was so delicious. I am not skilled at wrap wrapping so it wasn’t as neat as at Buffalo Wild Wings, but it was just as delicious, and about half the calories. That’s a win in my book.

Next up, I made BBQ pork chops. No recipe link here, just the A.1. Sweet Mesquite BBQ dry rub, plus some extra salt, pepper, and garlic powder rubbed into the chops, and I baked them at 400 degree for about 20 minutes, since my chops are 1-inch.

BBQ Pork Chop with Loaded Mashed Potato Crunch

BBQ Pork Chop with Loaded Mashed Potato Crunch

The side for this, however, does have a recipe link. Loaded Mashed Potato Crunch from Cinnamon-Spice & Everything Nice. These were so amazing! It’s like a giant potato pancake, or potato skins. The top and bottom get crispy while the middle stays soft and creamy. I made mine in a half-sheet pan and had to convince myself that I couldn’t eat the whole thing!

A Queso Taco Pasta Bake from Picky Palate hit some nice Mexican notes for us, with ground beef, pasta, diced tomatoes, and onions swimming in a creamy queso sauce.

Queso Taco Bake

I couldn’t get over how delicious this was. It had great flavor from so few ingredients, and was wonderfully creamy from the queso sauce. I will admit I augmented the recipe slightly by adding two chopped bell peppers, one green and one red.

Last up this week, Chicken Enchilada Rice Casserole from Jo Cooks. Another simple recipe of rice, shredded chicken, refried beans, enchilada sauce, corn, and cheese.

Chicken Enchilada Rice Casserole

Chicken Enchilada Rice Casserole

This was another saucy, delectable dish. The refried beans add creaminess, and then enchilada sauce has plenty of flavor. I did add a can of drained petite diced tomatoes with green chilies for the pop they would give. I now the recipe didn’t need the tomatoes, but I add them to anything I can. I love tomatoes in any form.

Well, that’s it for this Food Friday! Have a great weekend everyone. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

