Food Friday – 12/26/2014

Hello again!

FoodFriday12-26

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas. I had some fun with friends and family, but the hubs caught a bad cold from someone at work and that cut our celebrating short. He spent most of Christmas on the couch coughing and drinking all the tea and orange juice AND Gatorade I brought him.

But, that’s not what you’re here for. On to the food!

First, up, I have this Crock Pot Sausage Black Beans and Rice from Serena Bakes Simply From Scratch. Crock Pot Sausage Black Beans and Rice

A slow cooker dish, I set this up and let it go while I worked on all the baking and making I needed to finish for Christmas. It had good flavor, and was very filling.

Do you remember the other week when I talked about Turkey Meatloaves and Braised Cabbage? Well, I loved that cabbage so much, I went looking for more recipes. I found this Cabbage Roll Soup from Spend with Pennies.

Cabbage Roll Soup

This soup did not disappoint. It’s quick to put together, and then it just simmers for a bit and dinner is served. It was so good, I’m thinking about trying a hot and soup cabbage soup next week. Perhaps cabbage is my new favorite vegetable? No, probably not, but it is so delicious in this soup, and it’s cheap! What could be better?

Another slow-cooked meal, this Crock Pot 3 Bean Turkey Chili from Skinnytaste is wonderful.

Crock Pot 3 Bean Turkey Chili

I have made this recipe exactly as stated a few times before, and it is great stuff. I did augment the recipe a bit this time. The Cabbage Roll Soup from earlier needed V-8 juice, so I had some left over, and used it in place of the tomato sauce in this recipe. Great substitution if you ask me. I also added two chopped green peppers and two chopped red peppers.

Last up, a Fajita Chicken Bake from The Pinning Mama. I love, love, love all things fajita, and this is just another great recipe for me to satisfy that craving.

Chicken Fajita Bake

The prep on this is crazy simple: season chicken with taco seasoning, chop vegetables, layer over chicken in a baking dish, and cover with cheese. Then you bake it. So simple, and the flavor payoff is great.

That is it for this Food Friday. See you Monday!!

Leave a Reply

