Novel Monday – The Secrets of Life and Death by Rebecca Alexander

Hello again!

So, I’m finally here with The Secrets of Life and Death by Rebecca Alexander.

The Secrets of Life and Death by Rebecca Alexander

The Secrets of Life and Death by Rebecca Alexander

(I was provided a free copy of this novel from Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review.)

A big thing I noticed about this book was it took concentration. I thought originally I couldn’t get it read because I was sick, but when I was finally feeling better I found I couldn’t read it on the couch with the TV on like I normally do. I had to read the entire novel after I went to bed, when it was quiet and nothing could distract me.

Now, it was a really interesting book, don’t get me wrong. I was fascinated by the 1585 plot line, which centered around Elisabeth Bathory and an Alchemist and his assistant brought to save her life with dark magic. The modern-day storyline about a professor brought on to consult on occult symbols found of a dead girls body.

At first the historical fiction thread was far outpacing the modern-day storyline for me, but over the course of the book, that changed. The modern storyline gets more interesting, while the historical line limped along. Elisabeth Bathory is a morbidly fascinating topic, so I was intrigued by this take on her story.

All in all, this was a good book. I felt some things in the modern storyline were rushed and/or not explained as fully as I would have liked, and certain things (romance) seemed forced. I would recommend this book to people who like mystery/investigation based novels with a “historical” twist.

3.5 out of 5.

So, on to this week, quickly closing already.

My first book(technically) of this year is going to be…

The Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

Rules of Civility by Amor Towles.

Set in the 1930’s, it centers around Katey Kontent, a working class girl, and how a chance meeting with a handsome stranger can completely change a life.

See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

