Food Friday – 01/08/2015

Hello again!

Food Friday 01-08

This week was an interesting one, and brought mostly great recipes.

First up, French Bread Pizzas from Pioneer Woman. She gives a number of topping options, but I just chose a standard pepperoni pizza and a taco pizza, which has an awesome salad topping once baked.

French Bread Pizzas

French Bread Pizzas

These took me less than half an hour to whip together, and they were so satisfying! The taco pizza was my favorite. The lettuce and tomato topping really made them great.

Second, I stuck with a Mexican theme and made this CrunchWrap Supreme copycat from Jam Hands. Click on over for a way better recipe picture, mine just came out this way.

Crunchwrap

These were not my favorite thing. The inner tortilla got really soft, and they took a lot longer to make than I thought they would. Overall, I would just say they weren’t quite worth the trouble for me. All the parts tasted great, but put together things just didn’t work for me. Jam Hands version looked much better than mine, so maybe I did something wrong.

Next up, Italian Sausage and Tortellini Skillet from Yellow Bliss Road.

Sausage Tortellini

I have just one word for this recipe: Amazing!! Less than half an hour, start to finish, and just one dish would be enough to make me happy, but for it also taste as good as it did? This is going to be a staple meal. I did add diced onions to mine, but otherwise followed the recipe.

Last up, Sesame Chicken with Quinoa from Gimme Some Oven. I served it with roasted cabbage that didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to.

Sesame Chicken With Quinoa

Sesame Chicken With Quinoa

I liked everything about this dish, except I wish there had been a little more sauce. It tastes just like restaurant sesame chicken, but is so much better nutritionally. This was also my first time making quinoa, and Gimme Some Oven has a great tutorial on how to cook that linked in her recipe. It cooked perfectly and was actually really delicious.

That’s it for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

