Novel Monday – Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl

Hello again! 

So, quick personal news break,  today is my two year anniversary. Should be a great day but we came home from our mini vacation to find our lovely dog Windy stumbling when she walks, not eating,  and overall unwilling to move. Trip to the vet today. 😦

In practical news,  I took my laptop to a repair shop on Friday and haven’t gotten it back yet,  so links might not open in a new tab in this post since I’m posting from my WordPress tablet app. I initially thought I wouldn’t be able to add pictures or links at all because I can’t find those options on my phone version of the app, but I’ve got atleast that much figured out here.

Anyway,  last week’s novel was Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl.

image

Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl

This novel tested a resolution I made
this year.  I decided not to read any book to completion that I wasn’t interested in within 50 pages. It is an interesting idea from Nancy Pearl. The link shows the full explanation of the rule of fifty. 

I made it 75 before I gave up on this one.  I just couldn’t get into it. It has an odd formatting, seeming to take the worst parts of a textbook and adding them in. Visual aids, source citing gone mad, and a know-it-all narrative voice I just couldn’t connect with.

I suppose I won’t actually rate this one since I couldn’t finish it.  That should say enough,  I think.

I will be amending my Novel Monday workings to accomodate this rule.  From now forward, if I do abandon a book,  there will be an additional book come review day. A complete review will still be up every week from now on.

So,  on to this week!

This week’s novel will be…

image

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty.

This is part of ann online book club I joined this year.  You can check out all the details here: Peanut Blossom’s Book Club for Recovering Readers. It’s just one book a month, so it is not much of a burden if you’re thinking about joiningbup. It should be fun.

That’s it for this Novel Monday.  See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

