Food Friday – 01/16/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday01-16

So, I’m going to open up today’s post with another bout of personal news. Windy, my dog, had to go to the vet on Monday because she wasn’t walking properly. Her back legs kept crossing toward the middle as she walked, and she was slow and unsteady.

Windy Collage

So after two appointments, a hefty blood draw, and a few shots that seemed to do miracles, she is back to normal! Her blood work is perfect, which means despite her advancing age (9 years) her internal organs are all clicking along like clockwork.

This does mean that the issue is most likely spinal, so now we are saving towards x-rays and will keep her on the medicine until then.

Now, you may be wondering why I started with this long bit of personal news. This completely threw my off my cooking game this week, and I only have two recipes to share today.

First up, Eggroll in a Bowl from Mostly Homemade Mom.

Eggroll in a Bowl

Eggroll in a Bowl

This was delicious! I do have to admit, I didn’t have ground sausage, so I used ground turkey and bumped up the spices a little to accommodate. It really does taste like an eggroll without the fried wrapper. I reworked the leftovers by cooking some eggs and adding this to them. It was like fried rice, just more egg-y, and really good.

Last up for today, One Pot Spicy Taco Rice Skillet from Sweet C’s Designs.

One Pot Spicy Taco Rice Skillet

One Pot Spicy Taco Rice Skillet

I have just one word for this: Yum! I served it with a salad on the side. It really satisfied a taco craving I was having.

The rest of this week we ate leftovers because we were busy with Windy. Hope you guys don’t mind too much. I’ll be back with a full set of recipes next week.

That’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday, and Wednesday for a brand new Craft Wednesday!

One thought on “Food Friday – 01/16/2015

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – 05/22/2015 | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

