Novel Monday – Big Little Lies

Hello again!

Welcome to another embarrassing installment of Jumbled January. This week, I’ll be posting my Novel Monday 12 hours late. Enjoy.

Last weeks novel was Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

I came to this book knowing nothing about it. I didn’t bother to read the synopsis. I just started reading it.

It turns out this novel is about three women whose children are starting kindergarten together, each at a crossroads in their lives, and the surprising drama that can unfold within the parents of an elementary school.

At the beginning of this book I was of two minds. Part of me was interested and captivated by the characters and the quick, engaging writing. The other part kept whispering chick lit chick lit chick lit. I am not a big chick lit fan, so I had to get beyond that. I like the premise of chick lit, but most of the ones I have read are very… fluffy, if you know what I mean.

This book was wonderful. It moved quickly through the story, and moved from character to character smoothly. While not revelatory in content, it felt fresh and the characters were full and rounded.

4.5 out of 5. Great book.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

Shadowlands by Kate Brian

Shadowlands by Kate Brian.

A YA novel, all I know is that it has a serial killer, witness protection, and the required teens.

That’s all for this weeks Novel Monday. See you Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

