Food Friday – 01/23/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday01-23

This week was a good week all around. We got Windy on some meds to keep her happy and feeling fit, and the food has been good and easy.

So, first up, 20-minute Spicy Sriracha Ramen Noodle Soup from Baker By Nature.

Spicy Sriracha Ramen Noodle Soup

Spicy Sriracha Ramen Noodle Soup

This was amazing! Sorry for the messy bowl, but I almost forgot to take a picture of this all together I was so ready to eat. The broth is so flavorful, and spicy while not being overwhelming. To make this recipe even better, you can make this ahead if you want! If so, just make the broth ahead, and cook the noodles just before serving. I saved half of my broth and reheated it for lunch the next day, and the only difference I noticed was it got a bit spicier.

Next up, I’ve got this One Pot Wonder Southwest Pasta from The Wholesome Dish.

One Pot Wonder Southwest Pasta

One Pot Wonder Southwest Pasta

Now, I love the idea of anything one pot. Anything that reduces the number of dishes I have to wash makes me happy. Thankfully, this dish is as filling and tasty as it is easy. I personally added a tiny bit of salsa to mine, just to brighten it up at the end, but the hubs liked it just the way it was, and didn’t even put on extra cheese!

Another easy meal, this Easy Chicken Enchilada Casserole from Jo Cooks made the hubs super happy.

Easy Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Easy Chicken Enchilada Casserole

I liked this, but not anywhere near as much as he did. I ended up giving him my leftover lunch portion because he liked it so much. I sometimes add veggies to Mexican dishes that don’t have them, but I am actually glad I didn’t. This casserole is wonderful as is, and lets the flavorful chicken shine through.

Last up this week, I’ve technically got two recipes. Italian Chicken and Vegetables in Foil from Diethood, and Creamy Greek Yogurt Mac and Cheese from Cooking Ala Mel.

Italian Chicken and Vegetables in Foil and Creamy Greek Yogurt Mac and Cheese

Italian Chicken and Vegetables in Foil and Creamy Greek Yogurt Mac and Cheese

The Italian Chicken and Vegetables in Foil was good. It was super easy, and had a nice flavor from the dressing. Make sure to use an Italian dressing you know you like, because it is the main flavor here.

The Creamy Greek Yogurt Mac and Cheese was fantastic. It was as easy as box mac and cheese, since you do not have to make a roux, and has a wonderful cheesy taste, and is surprisingly creamy from the Greek yogurt.

That’s it for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

