Novel Monday – Shadowlands by Kate Brian

Hello again!

Last weeks book was Shadowlands by Kate Brian.

Shadowlands by Kate Brian

Shadowlands by Kate Brian

Now, this may be mean, but I just can’t help it. The only thing that came to mind while I read this book: Lifetime movie.

It was a fun easy read, but cannot be thought about AT ALL. If you start to really think about it, all the holes come out to trip you. There are so many convenient things that happen to move the plot in the direction she wanted it becomes almost comical.

I don’t want to get into any of the holes or even talk about the plot itself too much because I don’t want to spoil any of the amusing story. I will mention that the surprise at the end was more annoying than revelatory to me. By the time I got there I knew what it was, and I was tired of the overdrawn mystery leading to it, which seems to be a YA staple.

I’ll give this a 3 out of 5. Read it when you have a little time. Read it all at once, and just let yourself laugh at it. There are two books after this one, but this one wrapped up enough for me.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel will be…

Kings of Vice by Ice-T and Mal Radcliff

Kings of Vice by Ice-T and Mal Radcliff

Kings of Vice by Ice-T and Mal Radcliff.

I won’t lie and say the reason I picked this up wasn’t because it has Ice-T and Law and Order: SVU on the cover. It absolutely was. Color me intrigued.

It’s a novel about a crime syndicate, and the leader who was betrayed and sent to prison 20 years earlier. Now, back on the streets, he’s ready for revenge and redemption.

That’s all for this Novel Monday! See you Friday.

Leave a Reply

