Food Friday – Thug Kitchen

Hi guys!

So I’m back this week with a special Food Friday. Hubs gave me a cookbook for Christmas, and I really wanted to feature recipes from it here. Unfortunately, I can’t link to the recipes, and I can’t put the recipes up here since I don’t own them.  I finally realized I could do a special post featuring only recipes from the cookbook, and my review of it. It’s almost like Novel Monday and Food Friday mashed together!

So, what is this mysterious cookbook?

Thug Kitchen: Eat Like You Give A F*ck by Thug Kitchen

Thug Kitchen: Eat Like You Give A F*ck by Thug Kitchen

Thug Kitchen: Eat Like You Give a F*ck by Thug Kitchen. (Link will take you to Amazon, where my copy came from)

Thug Kitchen does have a fantastic website here with more delicious recipes and beautiful photos.

Now fair warning, if you aren’t sure from the title, this cookbook contains “offensive” language. It is highly entertaining, though. The photography is beautiful, and the recipes mouth-watering. Oh, and I should probably mention it is all vegan! But if you’re a meat-eater like me, don’t worry! You won’t be sacrificing flavor or texture with these meals. I think the best way I can recommend this book is to say that the hubs is loving every meal! He’s not missing the meat, and looks forward to picking a new recipe for Meatless Monday.

So, now I’ll get to the recipes I’ve made so far.

First up, Tortilla Soup.

Tortilla Soup

Tortilla Soup

This recipe is a great mix of veggies, and topped with chickpeas (it was also suggested to top with cilantro, avocado, minced jalapeno, and chips, but I had none that night). Warm, it was an awesome, flavorful soup. Cold the next day I used it as a psuedo-salsa and loved every minute of it.

Staying on a Mexican-style trend, I made Sweet Corn and Green Chili Baked Flautas.

Sweet Corn and Green Chili Flautas

Sweet Corn and Green Chili Baked Flautas

This recipe uses pinto beans and tastes wonderfully meaty and filling, with just a little heat from the green chilies and a little sweet from the corn. I barely finished my plate(in a good way).

Next, I made Cauliflower Cream Pasta with Fresh Herbs.

Cauliflower Cream Pasta with Fresh Herbs

Cauliflower Cream Pasta with Fresh Herbs

This was absolutely amazing! It’s like a silky, healthy Alfredo sauce. I may never make Alfredo again! I’ll just make this and be happy.

Last up, Vegetable-Noodle Soup with Ginger Miso Broth.

Vegetable-Noodle Soup with Ginger Miso Broth

Vegetable-Noodle Soup with Ginger Miso Broth

Yum. With this I’m not sure what else to say. The broth has AMAZING flavor, and the vegetables are still crisp and fresh.

I will be working more of these recipes into our routine. I imagine they are all as delicious as these have been.

This cookbook is great for anyone. You don’t have to be an amazing cook to make these recipes, and if you’ve had bad luck with vegetarian or vegan recipes before (like I have) give this cookbook a shot. You won’t be disappointed.

That’s all for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

2 thoughts on “Food Friday – Thug Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – Thug Kitchen Part II | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks
  2. Pingback: Food Friday – Just Grill This by Sam The Cooking Guy | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

