Novel Monday – The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

Hello again! Last weeks novel was The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff.

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

This was a really good novel. It’s dreary and weird and wonderful. The pacing is relatively slow, the prose simple, but that just adds to the strange, ugly tale. There is a great bleak atmosphere to this novel that I crave when I read something with a horror angle. The characters are interesting and odd, and the dialogue is on point and appropriate for the teen characters it surrounds without being completely obnoxious or full of made-up slang. There’s an element of mystery throughout, but it unfolds very easily. 4 out of 5.   So, on to this week! This weeks novel will be…

The Winner Stands Alone Paulo Coelho

The Winner Stands Alone Paulo Coelho

The Winner Stands Alone by Paulo Coelho. I’ve never read anything by Paulo Coelho. I know The Alchemist is his most mentioned work, but I never seem to start an author with their most notable work. When I decided to read Chuck Palahnuik, I read Survivor, not Fight Club or Choke. I guess I’m sticking with that here. The Winner Stands Alone focuses on our fascination with celebrities, fame and wealth. Update One quick thing I’d like to mention: if you have a novel you want me to review, please post it in the comments below. I love novel recommendations. And On The Road is coming in a few weeks, I promise (you know who you are). That’s all for this Novel Monday. See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

