Food Friday – 02/13/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday02-13

I got almost all of my recipes this week from Food Network, and almost all of them were amazing.

First up, we had friends over for dinner one night and I made these Garlicky Patty Melts with Provolone from Rachel Ray, and served them with her Bacon and Egg Macaroni Salad.

Garlicky Patty Melts and Bacon and Egg Macaroni Salad

Garlicky Patty Melts and Bacon and Egg Macaroni Salad

The patty melts were a hit all around. They were juicy and cheesy and the bread held up wonderfully and stayed crispy.

The Bacon and Egg Macaroni Salad was good. The recipe calls for grated onion and garlic in the dressing, and I found their flavor somewhat overpowering. It was a really sharp raw onion flavor. Everyone ate theirs and said it was good, but I think next time I would omit the onion.

Does anyone else love tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches? I LOVE the combination, always have. So, of course I was interested when I saw this version of the classic on Food Network. Damaris Phillips used fire roasted tomatoes in her Tomato Soup, and made her own pimento cheese for these Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwiches.

Tomato Soup and Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwiches.

Tomato Soup and Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwiches.

This combo may be my go-to for tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches from now on. The soup is creamy and so full of flavor from the additional vegetables and the fire-roasted tomatoes. The grilled cheese sandwiches were gooey and crispy and all around amazing!

Okay, I’ve got just one more recipe this week. My favorite seafood is shrimp, and I’ve decided to work more of it into my diet this year. I started with this Shrimp and Bacon Pasta Carbonara from Number 2 Pencil.

Shrimp and Bacon Pasta Carbonara.

Shrimp and Bacon Pasta Carbonara.

Mine definitely doesn’t look as wonderful as hers did, but I imagine it was just as delicious. To make it even easier, it uses SeaPak frozen shrimp scampi which gives the dish a great flavor boost, and since the shrimp is frozen raw it doesn’t become a rubbery mess.

That’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

