Food Friday – 02/20/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday02-20

I have a wonderful, if unintentional, array of Asian-inspired dinners this week.

Space

I’ll start off with one of my favorite types of Asian cuisine: stir fry! I found this Spicy Chili Garlic Stir Fry Sauce recipe on Or Whatever you Do.

Spicy Chili Garlic Stir Fry

Spicy Chili Garlic Stir Fry

The recipe is just for the sauce, so you could whatever combination of proteins and vegetables that you love. I chose to use shrimp, snow peas, onions, and red bell pepper.

This sauce is amazing! It is spicy and flavorful and just perfect. It has a nice heat without being overwhelming. I imagine it would work great with chicken or pork, maybe even steak. Another great benefit? This meal whips together so quickly! I was done in under 30 minutes, and I’ll confess I am a slow cook.

Space

Next up, Healthy 30 Minute Sriracha Teriyaki Meatball Bowls from Baker by Nature.

Healthy 30 Minute Sriracha Teriyaki Meatball Bowls

Healthy 30 Minute Sriracha Teriyaki Meatball Bowls

Since I mentioned being such a slow cook just a minute ago, I will shamelessly admit this took me about 45 minutes to complete. This is just the reality of meatballs for me. I have no idea why, but they take me forever to roll.

This ended up being a bit too spicy for me. The heat built the more I ate, and I had to stop about halfway through my dinner. The sauce had good flavor, but I just couldn’t stand up to the building fire in my mouth! The hubs loved them, and I think they would make a great appetizer for a party. I just wouldn’t eat a whole bowl by myself again.

Space

Now, the last two recipes this week are uncharted territory for me. I have no frame of reference for how these dishes should taste, but, as ever, I will tell you how I felt about them.

I’ll start with a copycat recipe: CPK’s Kung Pao Spaghetti from Damn Delicious.

CPK's Kung Pao Spaghetti

CPK’s Kung Pao Spaghetti

I have never had Kung Pao chicken, or CPK’s Kung Pao Spaghetti. I have no idea how they should taste. I can tell you this was damn delicious! (and yes, I shamelessly made that joke. I couldn’t help myself. It was so easy, and true.) It was simple and spicy, but also so much more than that. The sauce was glossy (one of my favorite things about Asian food, at least Asian American food, is the glossy sauces. They’re so beautiful.) and had a nice depth from the sherry and red wine vinegar.

Space

Last up this week, and the most out of my comfort zone, Thai Peanut Chicken and Ramen Noodle Soup from Half Baked Harvest.

Thai Peanut Chicken and Ramen Noodle Soup

Thai Peanut Chicken and Ramen Noodle Soup

I have never eaten anything like this.  I seem to shy away from anything involving fruit or peanut butter in my savory dishes. It weirds me out, don’t ask me why. But I’ve been trying to branch out in the last year or so, and this was next on my must attempt list.

And I am so glad I did! It was full of flavor and depth! Since I was afraid of the peanut butter, I started with just 1/4 cup instead of the 1/2 cup the recipe called for. I ended up adding another big spoonful after I tasted it. The soup was creamy and slightly sweet while still light and brothy. There was a bit of spice and depth from the other sauce ingredients. I have such a hard time describing why I liked it so much. It hit all the flavor notes. It was just fantastic…

And so filling! Due to a snow storm this week, we had a couple of friends over the day I made this, so I split the recipe four ways. I think it easily could have gone six ways without sacrificing satiety, which would make it a great dish for a dinner party. It also looks impressive, like you spent hours on it when it only took about 30-45 minutes.

Okay, sorry about that long-winded review! Luckily, that was the last one, and that’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday!

2 thoughts on “Food Friday – 02/20/2015

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – 03-13-2015 | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

