Novel Monday – Eleanore & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Eleanore & Park by Rainbow Rowell.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

I love the dual pov and heavy emphasis on personal thoughts. The entire novel is spent alternating between Eleanore and Parks mind, and it is so essential to the unfolding of the story. So much of Eleanore and Parks relationship is non-verbal. Thought and reactions show not only the unfurling love story, from dislike to teenage obssesive love, but also tangles with the troubles with just being as a teen in high school.

I found the love story quite believable. Emotions and feeling can be so easily changed when you’re young. Every action and word has an impact.

This book was just what I needed after last week. It was bright and fun, and also heartbreaking and sweet. It’s a wonderful jumble that takes you back to those high school days, so fraught with manufactured drama. I finished it in one night because I couldn’t put it down.

4.5 out of 5. I would recommend this to anyone.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel will be…

I'm Looking Through You by Jennifer Finney Boylan

I’m Looking Through You by Jennifer Finney Boylan

I’m Looking Through You: Growing Up Haunted by Jennifer Finney Boylan.

I’m changing gears completely this week. I’m not big into non-fiction, but this memoir caught by eye while I was trolling my libraries e-book selection. Wish me luck with it!

That’s all for this Novel Monday. See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

