Food Friday – Thug Kitchen Part II

Hello again!

Last month, I did a post about  a cookbook called Thug Kitchen: Eat Like You Give a F*ck.

Thug Kitchen: Eat Like You Give A F*ck by Thug Kitchen

Thug Kitchen: Eat Like You Give A F*ck by Thug Kitchen

Well, this week I’m back again to show you a few more things I’ve made out of it.

First up, Warm The F*ck Up Minestrone.

Warm The F*ck Up Minestrone

Warm The F*ck Up Minestrone

This is a perfect winter soup. It’s filling and comforting and really warms you right up.

Continuing on the soup theme, Wedding Soup With White Bean Balls and Kale.

Wedding Soup with White Beans Balls

Wedding Soup with White Beans Balls and Kale

I’m not going to lie. I was wary of this one. The bean balls seemed so weird. But they are amazing! Bursting with flavor, they make the soup perfect. The most interesting thing about the bean balls is they start to dissolve in the soup, and infuse that great flavor throughout the broth.

space

To wrap this post, I have two Mexican-style dishes.

I’ll start with these Roasted Beer and Lime Cauliflower Tacos with Cilantro Coleslaw (and Fire-Roasted Salsa).

Roasted Beer and Lime Cauliflower Tacos with Cilantro-Lime Slaw.

Roasted Beer and Lime Cauliflower Tacos with Cilantro Coleslaw.

This was the only slightly low point in all of the recipes from the Thug Kitchen cookbook I’ve made so far. I loved the slaw. It was tangy and crunchy, and bright from the lime juice. The Fire-Roasted Salsa (from the cookbook) was AMAZING! I’ve been eating it all week. It used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and somehow still tastes fresh and light.

The only part I didn’t love was the texture of the cauliflower. Maybe I didn’t cook it quite right or I just don’t like the texture of cauliflower, but I just couldn’t love it, and that was so disappointing for me since the flavor was there.

Okay, last dish. Roasted Chickpea and Broccoli Burritos.

Roasted Chickpea and Broccoli Burritos

Roasted Chickpea and Broccoli Burritos

I loved these. They came together so quickly and had the hubs saying ‘Why do we eat meat?’ (in fairness and full disclosure, he asked for a steak the next night). The flavors are just wonderful, warm, a little smokey, and a bit of sweetness from the red bell pepper and onion.

This is going to be my last Thug Kitchen specific post. I hope you liked them, and that they have inspired you to go buy this cookbook. It really is fantastic and entertaining.

So, that’s it for this Food Friday! See you Monday.

One thought on “Food Friday – Thug Kitchen Part II

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – Just Grill This by Sam The Cooking Guy | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

