Novel Monday – I’m Looking Through You: Growing Up Haunted by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was I’m Looking Through You: Growing Up Haunted by Jennifer Finney Boylan.

I'm Looking Through You by Jennifer Finney Boylan

I’m Looking Through You by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Hmm… I guess I’ll preface this review by saying I thought this was about a psychic/medium/paranormal investigators childhood. Like I mentioned last week, this just caught my eye while I was browsing. I have never heard of Jennifer Finney Boylan and I didn’t read the description before checking it out.

I’m not sure what to say about this book now.  I felt there were two focuses competing for attention. First, there’s the story of transgender James and the long journey to become Jenny. Then there’s the “haunted” storyline. A bit over halfway through the book I realized that, though there is a haunted house in this memoir, it’s more about personal hauntings, the people, events, and things that follow us through our lives.

I really enjoyed the memoir after I let go of my desire for a focus on ghostly hauntings. It did feel a bit long. The point was made and understood, and there was still a good-sized chunk of book left.

3.5 out of 5. I think I will give more memoirs a try thanks to this novel.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Yes Please by Amy Poehler.

I have been waiting to read this book since it came out. I enjoy Amy Poehler as a comedian, so I imagine I will love this novel.

And one last note, On The Road will be here in two weeks.

That’s all for this Novel Monday. See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

