Novel Monday – Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Yes Please by Amy Poehler.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Listen to the audiobook. I’m going to put that first and foremost for this review. Listen to this novel as an audiobook, please. Amy Poehler narrates with a few wonderful and amusing guest speakers.

This novel was hilarious. Full of stories from her childhood and her journey as a comedian, it is funny, quirky, and honest. I really loved the fact that even though this book made me laugh, it didn’t feel like she was trying to make me laugh. She tells real stories and her natural ability for humor shines through.

I think my favorite part of this was it felt inspirational and was packed with fun advice. It was so much more than I expected, and I love it.  She stays somewhat vague about the mechanics of her career path and some of her personal life events (such as her divorce), but I thought that was appropriate. Not everything in a person’s life is material, and being overly technical would take away from the feel of the novel.

4.5 out of 5. Fantastic. I borrowed this from the library, and as soon as I finished bought a copy.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel will be…

On The Road by Jack Kerouac

On The Road by Jack Kerouac

On The Road by Jack Kerouac.

This will kick off a new series for me. Once a month I’ll be reviewing a classic novel. I won’t be reviewing them critically per se, but from an is-this-good-reading-for-everyday-readers perspective. I don’t have a lot of classic novels under my belt personally, so this should be a fun journey for me.

That’s all for this Novel Monday. See you Friday.

3 thoughts on “Novel Monday – Yes Please by Amy Poehler

  1. Pingback: Classic Novel Monday – On The Road by Jack Kerouak | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks
  2. Pingback: Novel Monday – Bossypants by Tina Fey | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks
  3. Pingback: Novel Monday – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

