Classic Novel Monday – On The Road by Jack Kerouak

Hello again!

So, last week I mentioned that I would be starting a new series where I read a classic novel, and as the week rolled on I realized one problem with that. I read classic novels very slowly on the whole. I am not quite halfway through On The Road at this point.

On The Road by Jack Kerouac

On The Road by Jack Kerouac

It’s not a long novel at just over 300 pages, and it is somewhat entertaining. It’s almost like reading

someones journal. At times it is so rambling it is almost like listening to a musing drunk in the dark. It seems fairly self-indulgent the way the main character takes off with barely any money, and is more than happy to impose himself on the kindnesses of others.

So far, I’m not seeing the inspirational importance of this novel. So far, I’m just by turns laughing and shaking my head through it.

I’ll update when I’m completely finished.

UPDATE: So, now that I’ve finished this I realize I really don’t have any more to say about it. It was vaguely entertaining, and a good deal ridiculous.

Read this if you like childish adventures. It’s amusing but if I think too much about the fact that he was an adult when all this happens, it starts to make me mad.

2.5 out of 5.

In this weeks news, once I finish On The Road I’ll be moving on to…

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Bossypants by Tina Fey.

Yes, another humor novel by a woman, but I found out after reading Yes Please by Amy Poehler (check that out here) that a lot of people compare the two, and I figured why not?

That’s all for this Novel Monday! See you Friday.

Leave a Reply

