Food Friday – 03/20/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday03-20

This week I’ve got a bit more variety for you guys.

First up, Chicken Fajita Stuffed Peppers from Cooking Classy.

Chicken Fajita Stuffed Peppers

Chicken Fajita Stuffed Peppers

These are full of delicious ingredients: diced chicken, black beans, onion, rice, and corn. They remind me of a Santa Fe Stuffed pepper I made years ago (no idea where the recipe came from), but the fajita seasoning is different, delicious, and adds another layer of flavor.

I also just loved that these are a compact, complete meal. I didn’t have to worry about making a side dish.

Space

Next up, I have another Mexican-inspired chicken recipe, Chorizo Chicken Bake from My Kitchen Escapades.

Chorizo Chicken Bake

Chorizo Chicken Bake

The hubs and I both loved this, and by loved, I mean he LOVED it. I did make a small mistake while making it, though. The chorizo topping has cream cheese and sour cream, and I forgot to add the sour cream. I think it was good without it, but next time I’ll include it to see the difference. I imagine it would boost the creaminess. It’s spicy but not overwhelming, and can pair with a lot of different sides. I didn’t even pair it with Mexican-style sides. I made Parmesan green beans and baby potatoes and they went together wonderfully.

Space

My husband and I love chili, and I have been cooking with Sriracha a lot lately, so when I saw this Turkey Chili with Sriracha from Chew Out Loud, I just had to try it.

Turkey Chili with Sriarcha

Turkey Chili with Sriarcha

My favorite thing about this chili was the heat. It has a great warming heat that isn’t burn-your-tastebuds intense, and it was easy to get the heat level just where I liked it. I typically use crushed red pepper and/or cayenne pepper and it’s easy to go too far with those. I also loved that it wasn’t a thick, weigh-you-down chili. It is a bit brothy, but perfectly packed with flavor.

Space

Last up this week is a three-part dinner. I made this Parmesan Chicken from Kalyn’s Kitchen, and served it with Simple Spaghetti Fra Diavolo from Baker By Nature and Bloomin’ Garlic Cheese Biscuits from The Gunny Sack.

Parmesan Chicken with Simple Spaghetti Fra Diavolo and Bloomin' Garlic Cheese Biscuits.

Parmesan Chicken with Simple Spaghetti Fra Diavolo and Bloomin’ Garlic Cheese Biscuits.

The Parmesan chicken was by far the easiest Parmesan chicken I’ve ever made. No wet hand, dry hand here. You marinate the chicken breasts in a bit of olive oil and spices, then just dip them into panko bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese. It came out perfectly crispy and the breading actually stuck. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to the way I used to make Parmesan chicken. I just don’t need to.

The Spaghetti Fra Diavolo was quick and easy to make. I whipped it together while the chicken was in the oven and it was finished just in time. It has quite a bit of heat, so if you don’t like spicy I’d avoid this. The hubs and I really enjoyed it, though, and thought it paired great with the chicken.

The Bloomin’ Garlic Biscuits were a bit of work. You chop up little pieces of cheese, cut strips into canned biscuits and roll the cheese up in them. I, honestly, after making a cake and prepping a ton of chicken for freezing, flaked out on this project less than halfway through. The hubs was nice enough to finish them for me, and they baked up wonderful and cheesy.

Space

Okay, that’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday.

3 thoughts on “Food Friday – 03/20/2015

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – 03-27-2015 | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks
  2. Pingback: Food Friday – 04/10/2015 | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

