Novel Monday – Bossypants by Tina Fey

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Bossypants by Tina Fey.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Bossypants by Tina Fey

A couple of weeks ago I reviewed Amy Poehler’s novel Yes Please. I noticed a lot of people were comparing it to Tina Fey’s so I figured, why not? I’ll give Bossypants a go.

I got a free trial of Audible, so I listened to this as an audiobook.

I found a number of things confusing while listening to this. She focuses intently on certain events in her life, and glides past others in a disconcerting way. There’s a long focus on her short time as Sarah Palin, and almost nothing on her writing of/acting in Mean Girls. She does give some time to her scar (something I’m sure people are always wondering about), but doesn’t spend much on her time as an SNL cast member.

A self-deprecating tone permeates much of this book. It’s almost like she tries to shrug her fame off instead of talking about it. The book is funny overall, but feels forced in places and carefully made. It’s slightly awkward in its attempt to balance between memoir and humor essay.

3 out of 5. Worth a listen, but somewhat lacking for me.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

Shakespeare Saved My Life by Laura Bates

Shakespeare Saved My Life by Laura Bates

Shakespeare Saved My Life: Ten Years in Solitary with the Bard by Laura Bates.

My library has a e-book website, and this week they offered this book as a Big Library Read, which meant they had available copies for anyone who wanted to read it for a period of two weeks. Intrigued, I downloaded one for myself.

This is a memoir about a woman who taught Shakespeare to prison inmates, and made her way into the solitary confinement unit to teach those inmates.

That’s all for this Novel Monday! See you Friday.

Leave a Reply

