Food Friday – 03-27-2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday03-27

This week is pretty carb heavy. Have I ever mentioned to you how much I LOVE pasta and rice? Well, it’s a problem! I seem to pin a million pasta-based recipes and then I either have to succumb to the delicious carb-y dinners or search for new recipes. This week I just went with the flow.

Space

First up, I made Caesar Spaghetti by Rachael Ray from Food Network. I served it with Parmesan chicken (yes the same chicken from last week).

Caesar Spaghetti with Parmesan Chicken

Caesar Spaghetti with Parmesan Chicken

I couldn’t figure out how to feel about this. It does echo the flavors of Caesar salad, but somehow I just couldn’t love it. It was quick and easy and had a lot of flavor, but it just didn’t hit me the way I wanted it to. Maybe it was the escarole, since I’ve never had that before.

Space

Next up, Shanghai Noodles from The Daring Gourmet.

Shanghai Noodles

Shanghai Noodles

I loved this dish! It was filling and the pork was tender and perfect. My favorite part of this, though, was definitely the noodles and sauce. I think it would be amazing if you just made the sauce and noodles. I can say it was delicious cold the next day for lunch. The hubs said it tasted just like lo mein to him (his favorite Chinese take-out meal).

Space

Last pasta dish for the week, I made Chorizo Mac and Cheese from Damn Delicious.

Chorizo Mac and Cheese

Chorizo Mac and Cheese

This recipe finally got  me to the last of the chorizo I bought for the Spanish-Style Chicken and Dumplings a few weeks ago (check that out here). I had frozen the excess in the meantime so it wouldn’t go bad. And I’m glad I did. This is a great entrée mac and cheese with the black beans, corn and peppers. It has a nice heat from the chorizo and was still creamy and cheesy like mac and cheese should be.

Space

I’m moving on to rice for this last dish, and another stuffed pepper recipe (check out the last one here.) This week it was Stuffed Peppers Worth Stuffing from This Week For Dinner.

Stuffed Peppers Worth Stuffing

Stuffed Peppers Worth Stuffing

These have an Italian twist with Italian sausage, tomato sauce, and Parmesan cheese, and they were delicious! Get your favorite Italian sausage because I felt that was really the star here. I had a fresh sweet Italian turkey sausage my dad brought from a butcher shop, and it was wonderful. My ONLY caution with this recipe is be careful with the tomato sauce you use, because it can be a bit salty.

Space

That’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday.

One thought on “Food Friday – 03-27-2015

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – 04/10/2015 | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

