Novel Monday – Shakespeare Saved My Life by Laura Bates

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Shakespeare Saved My Life by Dr. Laura Bates.

Shakespeare Saved My Life by Laura Bates

Shakespeare Saved My Life by Laura Bates

Shakespeare Saved My Life is a memoir about Dr. Laura Bates and her work teaching Shakespeare to prison inmates. There is a particular focus on one inmate, Larry Newton, who, despite having no idea who Shakespeare was, relates to his work in a real way. Dr. Bates works with Larry for ten years, teaching and learning in turn.

I read this book in just a few nights. It hooked me quickly, and I was fascinated with the story. A big question presented is the utility of teaching inmates, and especially ones in solitary. I’m sure everyone has wondered why prison inmates are allowed to take college classes? Aren’t they supposed to be being punished for their crimes? They shouldn’t be getting opportunities like that.

But the book makes the point that most of these criminals are going to be released. They are going to be back in society, living in our cities and streets, and wouldn’t you want them to be the best neighbor they can be?

It was a great book, thought-provoking while still being entertaining. Larry story is bittersweet, but his attitude through it all is amazing! His enthusiasm for Shakespeare is palpable and contagious.

4 out of 5. Great read.

Space

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

Hall of Small Mammals: Stories by Thomas Pierce

Hall of Small Mammals: Stories by Thomas Pierce

Hall of Small Mammals: Stories by Thomas Pierce.

I think this might be the first collection of short stories I’ve ever read, so wish me luck!

That’s all for this Novel Monday. See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

