Novel Monday – Hall of Small Mammals by Thomas Pierce

Hello again!

Last weeks book was Hall of Small Mammals by Thomas Pierce.

Hall of Small Mammals: Stories by Thomas Pierce

Hall of Small Mammals: Stories by Thomas Pierce

Hall of Small Mammals is a short story collection with a common thread running throughout. The stories tie together through common characters or events.  I enjoyed the fact that all the stories tied together in one way or another.

The stories were strange and at times charming, with a very strong focus on human interactions, human relationships. The writing was good, but I didn’t find myself caring for any of the characters. I didn’t care what happened to them.

This book did take me almost an entire week to read. I didn’t love it. Most of the stories had ambiguous endings, and it felt forced to me. Ambiguity doesn’t necessarily indicate depth or profoundness. The stories just felt incomplete, like I’d lost a few pages along the way. I had a hard time remembering them with clarity after I had finished them.

2 out of 5. It feels harsh, but I just couldn’t connect to this book in any way.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.

I have been anticipating this book for months now. It was suggested to me since I loved Gone Girl and Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn. I even accidentally put in on hold with my library in print and e-book format! Print came free first, and I was so excited to pick it up this week.

That’s all for this week! See you Friday.

2 thoughts on “Novel Monday – Hall of Small Mammals by Thomas Pierce

  1. Pingback: Novel Monday – The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks
  2. Pingback: Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

