Food Friday – 04/10/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday04-10

This week I’ve got some really delicious recipes.

Space

First up, I augmented this fantastic Greek Taco recipe from Mountain Mama Cooks.

Greek Taco Salad

Greek Taco Salad

Since I am trying to eat healthier and lose weight (doing pretty good so far), I converted this into a salad so I could cram in more of the vegetables and less of the tortillas. I made the recipe exactly as instructed except for the assembly at the end.

The hubs and I loved everything about these! The ground turkey mixture is tasty on its own, with a bit of sauciness from the wine and tomato paste. But my favorite part by far was the tzatziki sauce. It was so creamy and I loved the garlic bite and freshness from the cucumber.

Space

Next up,  I have another stuffed pepper recipe (check out the other two here and here). This time I made Enchilada Stuffed Peppers from Chef In Training.

Enchilada Stuffed Peppers

Enchilada Stuffed Peppers

These were filling and perfect for dinner. The enchilada sauce added just enough sauciness without drowning the ingredients. I did add a bit extra seasoning because I find the canned enchilada sauce to be a bit bland, but at the same time I didn’t feel like making my own.

Space

Next up, Chicken and Lime Soup from Budget Bytes.

Chicken and Lime Soup

Chicken and Lime Soup

I really liked this. It was warm and a bit spicy with a brightness from the lime juice. The hubs said it was kind of like a light chili, and we enjoyed the broth of it versus a thick chili sauce. I think it would be a good soup during the summer because it’s delicious even when it cools to room temperature.

Space

Last up, Thai Turkey Meatballs from ifood real.

Thai Turkey Meatballs

Thai Turkey Meatballs

The hubs and I agreed the sauce was the star here! It is so flavorful and rich without being heavy. The meatballs were tender and moist from the zucchini.  I served this over brown rice and we both loved it.

That’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

