Novel Monday – The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train is a psychological thriller about a woman who, while on a commuter train every morning, likes to imagine she knows the people she passes by during a slow stretch. But one day she sees something that shatters her pleasant imaginings and changes everything.

This was yet another book being violently and oppressively compared to Gone Girl. Now, don’t get me wrong, I loved Gone Girl (as well as Sharp Objects and Dark Places. Gone Girl is not Gillian Flynn’s only book, and in my opinion, is not even the best of them), but I am tired of so many books being compared to it. It sets readers up for disappointment if the book doesn’t play exactly the same. I saw so many reviews that just screamed that ‘this isn’t Gone Girl at all!!”

No, The Girl on the Train, is not Gone Girl. It is its own wonderful, twisty, sad character study. It is a wonderful train ride(pardon the pun) that left me cringing and breathless with anticipation. I was caught up right from the beginning, though for some it will start a bit slowly. I loved the multiple point-of-views and the deep in-the-mind style of it. Paula literally put me inside the characters mind, so that I felt everything more sharply and with more urgency. It made the book that much better that I felt slightly dizzy and lost throughout.

The story unfolds slowly, carefully, with just enough obvious reveals that I got to feel smug while I was reading. Ha, I knew that was coming. I’m sure you know the feeling. But I’m not ashamed to admit I didn’t anticipate the twist at the end.

I loved this novel and will be eagerly anticipating her next novel. 4.5 out of 5.

So,, on to this week! This weeks novel will be…

Trigger Warning:Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

Trigger Warning:Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

Trigger Warning: Short Fiction and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman.

I am hoping I do better with this collection than the last I read, since I have read one of Neil Gaiman’s novels and enjoyed it(find that review here).

That’s all for this Novel Monday. See you Friday!

One thought on “Novel Monday – The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins

  1. Pingback: Novel Monday – The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

